2011 Troy tournament teams selected

Published 8:44 pm Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Logan Johnson throws a pitch during practice in Troy, Ala., Tuesday, June 14, 2011. (Messenger Staff Photo/Thomas Graning)

The players and the coaches have been assembled.

The practices have begun, as the hunt for championships is about to begin.

It’s tournament time again, as the Troy recreation baseball and softball tournament teams have been selected, and thus beginning of the most anticipated seasons of the year.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“There is a lot of history and tradition with our tournament teams,” Troy Parks and Recreation Director Dan Smith said. “It’s a case where it is truly one community verses another community and it has been that way for decades.

“There are a lot of friendly rivalries played between communities and a lot of spirited rivalries played between communities. But at the same time, we are very proud of all the boys and girls and their families that will be representing Troy and we wish them the best of luck.”

The aforementioned luck has been with the Troy teams for several of the past couple of summers, as teams have brought home many trophies, including four World Series titles, won by three Dixie Boys team and one Dixie Minor team.

But bringing back trophies does not always define being successful when it comes to this time of the year.

“Success is not always the number of trophies or accomplishments that we may be able to accomplish,” Smith said.

“Our sportsmanship, how well we represent Troy and giving our best efforts are really what defines success. But at the same time, we are very proud that we have had some state champions and World Series champions.”

In all, there are 14 different teams this year, 11 of which are baseball with the remaining three being softball.

Leading the charge will be the Dixie Boys, 14-year-old, which is primarily made up of last year’s 13-year-old team that advanced to the World Series.

The team is made up of Hunter Baggett, Baylor Barnes, Xavius Burden, Jason Fleming, Reilly Fox, Chase Hartley, Patrick Henderson, Rush Hixon, Devin Hooks, Austin Ingram, Cole LaBrant, John Michael Renfroe and Trip Roberts.

The head coach will be Gary Fox, who was the boy’s coach last season.

The Dixie Boys 13-year-old team, will be coached by Sam Kitchens and is composed of Hunter Blackmon, Marquese Christian, Jarrett Jordan, Jerrell Lawson, Eric Lee, Hayes Lee, DeAndre Pitts, Cole Roberts, Cole Sanders Cole, Kiegan Simmons, Andrew Starling, Morgan Sullivant and Ty Witherington.

The Dixie Youth Ozone American team will be made up of Nate Duke, Bryson Gandy, Kobe Griffin, Dawson Hamlin, Grant Hughes, Charles Hussey, Jack LaBrant, Nicholas Lewis, Hunter Reeves, Devan Suddith, Charleston Tisdale and Graham Wilkes and will be coached by Stephen Dukes.

Michael Redman will coach the Dixie Youth American Rookie team, with the team being made up of Parker Dukes, Spencer Floyd, Ridge Knotts, Jahzarian Lampley, Juhmir Lampley, Cole Little, Cason Murphree, Tatum Phillips, Brian Redmon, Carson Tucker and Garrett Tucker.

There will be four teams competing in the Dixie Minor tournaments, the Dixie Minor Americans and Nationals and the Dixie Minor Rookie Americans and Nationals.

The Americans will be made up of Caden Bryan, Daniel Carter, Jackson Giles, Payne Griffen, Cody Hollis, Tyrell Jones, Karson Mays, Christian McCall, Lawson Scarbrough, Trott Sikes, Ty Singleton and De’Quavian Toney.

Frank Scarbrough will coach the team.

The Nationals will be coached by Chris Huner and will have Brax, Barron, Clay Barron, Trevor Barron, Laertis Brantley, Brock Huner, Noah Lowery, Cole McWhorter, David Phillips, Noah Phillips, Chance Pollard, Will Reeves and Will Stephens on the team.

The American Rookie team is made up of Dan’Quavious Adair, Khristian Andrews, Brody Cain, Ean Childs, Caleb Gamble, Braxton Golden, Graham Hamlin, Javaris Mcnair, Bendarius Myhand, Cody Paramore and Rotton Corey, with Britt Newman as the head coach.

The National Rookie team will be coached by Troy Johnson and is made up of James Bryan, Corey Calhoun, Ray Davis, Jaylen Deveridge, Malcolm Hall, Jackson Henderson, Logan Johnson, Thierry Jones, Zack Jones, Drew Reeves and Holt Steed.

The Pre-Minor tournament team will be made up of Davis Allen, Rodarius Christian, Marx Copeland, Avery Ernsberger, Ryan Ledford, John Baxley Sanders, Jackson Senn, Parker Sessions, Levi Sikes, Walker Stallworth, John David Taylor and Keith Wheeler.

Brett Stallworth will coach the boys from that team.

As for the softball teams, the Ponytails are led by Steve Finlayson and are made up of Addyson Bryan, Cassidy Davis, Amanda Finlayson, Lindsey Fox, Katlyn Gamble, Abby Lee, Ashlan McCloud, Jessica Nadell, Marah-Katelin Paramore, Rose Snyder, Shelby Turner and Chelsey Zellers.

The Darlings team is composed of Morgan Bundy, Nshanti Davis, Kinnedi Griffin, Jayla Lampley, Saudie Leverette, McKenzie Lewis, Aubrey Maulden, Lexi McLendon, Kaitlyn Richardson, Mary Shaver, Madison Stafford, and Alyssa Terry and is coached by Matt Leverette.

The final softball team, the Angels, is coached by Larry Sanders and is made up of Sidney Armstrong, Brookelynn Bennett, Hannah Calhoun, Sabra Daniels, Tuckers Earles, Sydni Garrett, Kelsey Gibson, Holly Hughes, Nelsey Leverette, Bailey Rushing, Molly Kate Sanders and Gracie Scarbrough.

David Nelson and Billy Jeffcoat are the head coaches of the two coach pitch teams, the Americans and the Nationals.

Those rosters were not available by deadline.