Chamber awards PRAISE, leadership scholarships

Published 8:25 pm Friday, May 15, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Pike County Chamber of Commerce has announced the recipients of the 2020 Scholarship Awards presented annually by the Chamber’s Education Committee.

The Chamber annually presents the P.R.A.I.S.E. Scholarship Awards, the Jones/Wagoner Scholarship Award and the Leadership Pike Scholarship Awards.

“The Pike County Chamber is proud to present these awards to outstanding high school graduates,” said Dana Sanders, Pike County Chamber of Commerce president. “These students have excelled at their individual schools and we are confident they will be successful in whatever careers they choose. We wish them all the best.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Sanders said the Overall Winner of the 2020 P.R.A.I.S.E. Scholarship Award is the student with the highest ACT score. This year’s recipient is Gavin Paul of Pike Liberal Arts School.

Angie Grice, PLAS assistant headmaster, said Gavin is the best friend of her son, Eli, so she knows him personally and as a student.

“Gavin is an outstanding young man in every way,” Grice said. “He is ambitious and is dedicated to his education. We can’t wait to see what he will do in his career and the contributions he will make wherever he goes.”

P.R.A.I.S.E. Scholarship Awards were also presented to Caidra Owens, Goshen High School; Laney Kelley, Charles Henderson High School and Abigail Griffin, Pike County High School.

Eli Grice, Pike Liberal Arts School, was the recipient of the 2020 Jones/Wagoner Scholarship which is awarded annually for community service.

“The late Hank Jones and Betty Wagoner were not only outstanding educators in the Troy City School System they were community leaders and community servants,” Sanders said. “Eli Grice is following in their footsteps as a leader and a community servant.”

The 2020 Leadership Pike Scholarship Awards are presented to graduates from each of the county’s four high schools who have displayed outstanding leadership skills.

The recipients of the2020 Leadership Pike Scholarship Awards are Ruhi Patel, Pike Liberal Arts School; Cailtin Hughes, Goshen High School; Hannah Huner, Charles Henderson High School; and Chelby Foster, Pike County High School.

Sanders congratulated the award recipients and wished them all the best as they begin the next and exciting chapter in their lives. The annual Praise and Jones/Wagoner scholarship awards are funded through the Let’s Eat Program. The Leadership Awards are funded by Leadership Pike projects. Sanders expressed appreciation to the restaurants that participate in the Let’s Eat Program and to the young men and women in Leadership Pike for their contributions.