Troy 11-12-year-old football team wins second-straight Super Bowl

Published 1:46 pm Thursday, November 14, 2019

The Troy 11-12-year-old football team won their second consecutive Super Bowl Championship, capping an undefeated season.

Because of their undefeated season, head coach Elder Robert Lee’s team were invited to play in the 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame  Championship.

The Troy football team finished the season as champions with a roster of a good mix of older and younger players.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“We were 6-0 and we won the Super Bowl for the second year in a row. It was a good accomplishment,” Lee said. “They were really disciplined and they presented a lot of great character. I am just really happy about their growth and how they began the beginning and the ending of the season.”

The Troy football team won on the backs of a strong running attack and a defense that held opponents to eight points per game.

“We ran the ball extremely well with our quarterbacks and running backs,” Lee said. “Our defense was very strong. I was really proud of the effort the boys gave.”

Troy was one of eight teams in the state of Alabama to be invited to play in the Hall of Fame Championship in Gulf Shores. Due to scheduling of the event, Troy was not able to participate in the tournament. Still, the invite was a special ending to what was a fun season of Troy football.

“That is a great honor,” Lee said. “It’s not extended to a lot of people. It’s an exclusive offer. They heard about our success the last two years.”

Troy had a total of 22 players on the roster this season and 16 are eligible to return and play for Troy next season. For that reason, Lee believes the future is bright for Troy football.

“We had a very young football team this year,” Lee said. “Most of them were 11 years-old. I anticipate, because of the success and the strength of our program, I am looking forward to at least 10 to 12 players to come back and defend our Super Bowl title.”

Players on the 2019 team include Cornelius Griffin II, Jyderian Burney, Jadarius Burney, Taquary Kelley, Cameron Fletcher, Michael Vaughn, Isaiah Mitchell, Gus Galloway, Deshawn Burden, Benjamin Patterson, Antonio Patterson, Christopher Corbin, Jacarian Williams, Landon Routzong, Tramarian Brundidge, Kingston Sharp, Caden Blair, Brian Frakes, Jade Johnson, Koby Richardson, Zachary Evans and Tyquarius Cuningham. Coaches include: Derrick Patterson, Michelle Mitchell, Darrius Carlisle and Michael Vaughn.