Trojans awarded with Sun Belt Conference honors

Published 3:00 am Friday, December 8, 2017

The Sun Belt Conference announced on Wednesday that Troy’s Neal Brown and Marcus Jones were named Coach of the year and Freshman of the Year, respectively. More news came out of New Orleans on Tuesday: 17 members of the Troy football team received 18 All-Sun Belt honors.

“Each and every one of our players on the all-conference team is very deserving of their recognition for their performances this season,” Brown said. “It is unfortunate that Brandon (Silvers) wasn’t recognized on one of the three all-conference teams. While there were a number of great quarterbacks in the league this year, it is my belief that he is one of the top quarterbacks in Sun Belt history. Brandon performed at a higher level this year than last year when he was named first-team All-Sun Belt.”

The list was highlighted by three first-team selections in offensive lineman Steven Rowzee, bandit linebacker Hunter Reese and cornerback Blace Brown.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Running back Jordan Chunn, offensive linemen Deontae Crumitie and Tristan Crowder, wide receiver Deondre Douglas, defensive tackle Jamal Stadom, nose guard Trevon Sanders, linebacker Tron Folsom and kick returner Marcus Jones were all named to the second team. Offensive lineman Kirk Kelley and safety Cedarius Rookard represented the Trojans on the third team while Brandon Silvers, Damion Willis, Antoine Barker and Marcus Webb were honorable mention selections.

During his senior season, Rowzee allowed three sacks at left tackle.

Reese leads Troy with 11.5 tackles for loss this season and he also has five sacks. Reese has had at least one tackle for loss in each of Troy’s final seven games.

Junior Blace Brown was a leader in the Trojan secondary this season. He is currently the active leader in the country in interceptions per game with 0.41. A highlight of his season came in Baton Rouge when he clinched the win for the Trojans with an interception. He also had an interception returned for a touchdown in the season opener against Boise State and had an interception in the end zone during the season finale against Arkansas State.

Chunn finished the regular season as the leader in the conference with 10 rushing touchdowns this season. He also ranks fourth in the conference in rushing with 774 yards.

Douglas had arguably the biggest reception of the year on Saturday night when he hauled in the game-winning touchdown against Arkansas State. He finished the regular season with 628 yards and four touchdowns.

As a linebacker, Folsom finished with 77 tackles and 9 tackles for loss. In his final year as a Trojan, Silvers completed nearly 63 percent of his passes for 2,985 yards and had 13 touchdowns.

The Sun Belt Player of the Year was awarded to Ja’Von Rolland-Jones of Arkansas State, Offensive Player of the Year went to Arkansas State quarterback Justice Hansen, Defensive Player of the Year went to South Alabama’s Jeremy Reaves and the Newcomer of the Year was Ron LaForce of New Mexico State.