Cattlemen, Cattlewomen honor scholarship recipients

Published 8:19 pm Tuesday, May 7, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Pike County Cattlemen’s Association and the Pike County Cattle Women’s Association hosted the 2024 Scholarship Awards Program and Luncheon at noon Tuesday at Cattleman Park.

Derrick Thompson, president of the Pike County Cattlemen’s Association, welcomed the scholarship recipients and their parents who share in their educational achievements.

Thompson said the annual scholarship program is made possible each year by the Pike County Cattlemen’s Professional Cowboy Association Rodeo in late summer and the Equipment Auction each spring.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Pike County Cattlemen and Cattlewomen work together in making both the rodeo and equipment auction a success.

The recipients of the Pike County Cattlemen’s 2024 Scholarships are Ansley Holbert, Charles Henderson High School:  Harleigh Bozeman, Goshen High School; Mallory Chandler, Pike Liberal Arts; Tyler Harrison, Pike Liberal Arts; and Bryant Swindall, Pike Liberal Arts.

The recipients of the Pike County Cattlewomen’s Association are the Jewel Griffin Memorial Scholarship, Elly Stevens, Betty Hixon Memorial Scholarship, Rylee Copeland, Pike Liberal Arts; Agnes Johnson Memorial Scholarship, Hope Challancin, Charles Henderson High School ; Winnie Lee Memorial Scholarship, Christopher A. Thompson, Jr.; Goshen High School; and the Tammy Powell Memorial Scholarship, Elsie Clare Coppage, Charles Henderson High School.

Denise Tempellis, Pike County Cattlewomen, president, congratulated the scholarship recipients for their outstanding dedication to their educations and for their desires to continue learning as they prepare for their futures.

“Congratulations and all the best in all that you do.”