Troy lands commitment from JUCO National Champion tight end

Published 9:32 am Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

This week, Troy University landed yet another junior college (JUCO) commitment for the 2024 Recruiting Class, this time from tight end Trae Swartz.

Swartz is a 6-foot-5-inch, 250-pound native of Ottumwa, Iowa, who started his college career at Iowa-Western Community College (IWCC).

Swartz caught two passes for 14 yards during his JUCO career but is most known as using his large frame as a blocking tight end. Swartz and his Reivers teammates won the 2022 NJCAA National Championship last season and are looking to repeat this season as they face off with East Mississippi Community College in the 2023 NCAA National Championship on Dec. 13.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Swartz committed to Troy over offers from other schools like Northwestern State, Western Illinois and others.

In other news, Troy offensive linemen Kobe Williams and Jeremiah Frazier, along with linebacker Blake Matthews and defensive lineman Jackson Stein have all entered the Transfer Portal.

Troy’s 2024 Recruiting Class now includes Mobile (McGill-Toolen) cornerback Shemar Welch, Charles Henderson (Troy) athlete Jywon Boyd, UMS-Wright (Mobile) athlete Joe Lott, Baker athlete Kevin Beckham Jr., McAdory linebacker J’Quan Mason, Westlake (Ga.) offensive lineman Dominic Steward, Booker T. Washington (Tuskegee) athlete Elijah Hall Jr., Montgomery-Catholic quarterback Caleb McCreary, Jacksonville quarterback Jim Ogle, Jefferson (Ga.) offensive lineman Brian Senter and West Jefferson (La.) receiver Shaun Nicholas. The recruiting class also includes junior college (JUCO) commitments from Swartz, receiver Zeriah Beason, offensive lineman Zerian Hudson and defensive backs DK McGruder, Samson Israel, EJ Fisk, Navarion Benson, Kris Robinson and Cary Grant.

Troy 2024 Commitments (Updated 12/05/23)

Jywon Boyd, ATH, Charles Henderson High School (Troy, Ala.)

Shemar Welch, CB, McGill-Toolen Catholic School (Mobile, Ala.) J

oe Lott, ATH, UMS-Wright High School (Mobile, Ala.)

Kevin Beckham Jr., ATH, Baker High School (Mobile, Ala.)

J’Quan Mason, LB, McAdory High School (McCalla, Ala.)

Dominic Steward, OL, Westlake High School (Atlanta, Ga.)

Elijah Hall, ATH, Booker T. Washington High School (Tuskegee, Ala.)

Caleb McCreary, QB, Montgomery-Catholic School (Montgomery, Ala.)

Jim Ogle, QB, Jacksonville High School (Jacksonville, Ala.)

Brian Senter, OL, Jefferson High School (Jefferson, Ga.)

Shaun Nicholas, WR, West Jefferson High School (West Jefferson, La.)

DK McGruder, DB, Gulf Coast Mississippi Community College (Natchez, Miss.)

Zeriah Beason, WR, Hutchinson Community College (Duncanville, Texas)

EJ Fisk, CB, East Central Community College (Saltillo, Miss.)

Navarion Benson, DB, Co-Lin Community College (Crystal Springs, Miss.)

Kris Robinson, DB, East Central Community College (Jackson, Miss.)

Cary Grant, DB, Highland Community College (New Orleans, La.)

Samson Israel, DB, Coahoma Community College (Douglasville, Ga.)

Zerian Hudson, OL, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College (Brookhaven, Miss.)

Trae Swartz, TE, Iowa-Western Community Collgee (Ottumwa, Iowa)