Allen appointed to CPY river board

Published 6:30 pm Thursday, August 13, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Representative Wes Allen was recently appointed the Resident Director for Pike County on the Board of Directors of the Choctawhatchee, Pea and Yellow Rivers Watershed Management Authority (CPYRWMA). Probate Judge Michael Bunn administered the Oath of Office to him at a ceremony on May 12, 2020 held at the Pike County Courthouse in Troy.

In 2018, he was elected to the Alabama House of Representatives where he serves on the Judiciary Committee, Urban & Rural Development Committee & Constitutions, Campaigns & Elections Committee, and the Energy Council. Allen served as Probate Judge for Pike County from 2009 until 2018 and is the current president of Alabama Probate Judges Association. He graduated from the University of Alabama and received his Master Degree from Troy University. Allen is a Deacon of the First Baptist Church and resides in Troy with his wife, Cae Davis Allen, and their two children.

“Representative Allen embodies the spirit of community and brings expertise and energy to the table. The Agency is fortunate to have him as we continue to manage the Watersheds in Southeast Alabama. He will be an invaluable asset to our organization and a highly effective representative for Pike County,” said Lisa Harris, Executive Director of the CPYRWMA.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

 The CPYRWMA is a state agency established by the Legislature in 1991 and manages 2.3 million acres in the ten southeastern counties. The agency is responsible for developing plans and programs relating to water resource management in the areas of water quality, water quantity, flood control, and water conservation education.

It is the only watershed management authority that is a State agency, is non-regulatory, and is governed by a sixteen-member Board of Directors selected from the ten counties. Directors are appointed by the Soil & Water Conservation District in each county.