Former Brundidge mayor qualifies to run again

Published 6:52 pm Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Tuesday was the last day to qualify for the municipal elections to be held on August 25. Only a handful of candidates waited until the last minute to qualify. Most of the hopefuls had tossed their hats into the ring even before the qualifying date.

Brundidge will be the busiest of the Pike County municipalities on election day with a record number of 22 seat seekers on the ballot.

Qualifying for the mayor’s position are incumbent mayor, Isabell Boyd who is seeking a second term. Challengers for the mayor’s seat are former Brundidge mayor Jimmy Ramage and newcomers to city politics, Anthony Foster, Mike McNally and Rodney Wilson.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Those vying for the Brundidge council seats are: District 1, incumbent Betty Baxter and challengers, Lynette Andrews,  Douglas Holland and Johnny Turvin.

Vying for the District 2 seat are: Alexandria Griffin, who filled the vacant seat of her dad, Arthur Lee Griffin, Charlie Bell, Jessica Collier, Stacy Flournoy and Latisher Hall.

District 3 candidates are incumbent Margaret Ross and challengers Henry  Everett and Angie Kelly.

District 4 councilman Byron Gaynor is opposed by Paula Hall.

Chris Foster will be challenged for the District 5 seat by James Jones and Marilyn Rodgers.

Troy incumbents Jason Reeves, Robert Jones and Stephanie Baker have opposition in the August 25 election,

Reeves is being challenged for the mayor’s position by Tyrone Moultry. Council Member Jones, District 1, is being challenged by Sharon McSwain-Holland and Council Member Baker by Caleb Dawson.

Greg Meeks, District 2; Marcus Paramore, District 3; and Wanda Moultry, District 5; are unopposed and will retain their seats on the Troy City Council for the next four years.

Not many towns of any size are so satisfied with the performance of their town/city governments that, at election time, there are no challengers for the mayor or council seats.

Again, there will be no need for an election in the town of Goshen. Darren Jordan, the incumbent, is uncontested for the mayor’s positon and only five candidates qualified for the five at-large cancel seats. Newcomer Jeremy Bunnell will join incumbent council members Mack Barber, Jimmy Bryan, Shaun Richburg and Jack Waller on the Goshen Town Council. Jane Hughes did not seek re-election.

And, on August 25, Banks residents will not be concerned with social distancing or wearing a mask.

They will not go to the polls at all. Rather, they will be content knowing their town continues in good hands with Mayor Lisa Culpepper and council members, Kim Henderson, Jeff Hollis, Laura Hollis, Lori Welch and Lynn Wilson.