Brundidge Rotary awards scholarships

Published 6:38 pm Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Brundidge Rotary Club has named the recipients of the club’s nine Rotary, Honorary and Memorial Scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year. The Brundidge Rotary Club Scholarships are awarded annually to graduating seniors at area high schools.  This year, seniors from five high schools, Pike County, Goshen, Pike Liberal Arts, Zion Chapel and Ariton were so honored.

“We continue to have very good classes of seniors from which to choose,” said Rotarian Don Dickert, scholarship committee chair. “Our applicants are very sharp and will be good community leaders. They have all worked hard and are deserving of our club’s assistance.”

Dickert said the Rotarians would like to be able to award a scholarship to each of the applicants but the number of scholarships awarded is dependent on funding.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“Our funds are limited so we are very fortunate to be able to award nine, scholarships this year,” Dickert  said. “Our club’s fund-raising activities, Don Johnston, Jr.,  Sherroll Tatom, Larry Shiver and the family of Ralph Dicker provided funding for the scholarships this year.”

Dickert said the scholarships will be presented later in June.

“The Brundidge Rotary Club congratulates all of the scholarship winners,” Dickert said. “We are confident they will reach and exceed their goals in education and in life.”

The Harold Rodgers Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Tatiana Godfrey, a graduate of Pike County High School.  Godfrey plans to attend AUM and pursue a degree in nursing.

Kari A. Moore received the Sarah Spano Memorial Scholarship. Moore is graduate of Pike County High School and plans to attend the School of Nursing at Troy University.

The Wilburn Howard Rotary Scholarship recipient is Hayden Sessions, a graduate of Ariton High School. She also plans to attend Troy University and pursue a career in nursing.

Alexis Adkins, a graduate of Ariton High School, was awarded the J. Ralph Dickert Rotary Scholarship. She plans to pursue  agriculture and will attend Wallace Community College.

The recipient of the Robert L. Godwin Memorial Scholarship is Joseph Steven McCrory, a Zion Chapel graduate. Joseph will attend Troy University  and purse sports medicine.

Victoria Flowers, a graduate of Zion Chapel High School, received the Reynolds E. Wallace Rotary Scholarship. She will pursue social work at the University of South Alabama.

The Lawrence Bowden Honorary Scholarship was awarded to Camille B. Nichols. She is a graduate of Goshen High School and plans to pursue business management at Lurleen B. Wallace Community College.

Bryan Galloway, a graduate of Goshen High School, is the recipient of the Sherroll D. Tatom Honorary Scholarship. Bryan will attend Troy University and pursue a degree in engineering,

The Donald Johnston, Jr. Honorary Scholarship was awarded to Sarah Elizabeth Calhoun of Banks. She is a graduate of Pike Liberal Arts School and will pursue a career in nursing at Troy University.

The nine scholarships awarded in 2020 bring the total number of scholarships presented by the Brundidge Rotary Club over 26 years to 128 and in the amount of $125,000.