TUWL announces scholarship winners

Published 6:00 pm Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Troy United Women’s League has announced its scholarship recipients for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Cynthia Parker, Scholarship Committee, said, due to COVID-19, the recipients were not awarded the scholarships as a group but congratulations were extended to each scholarship recipient along with best wishes as they enter the next exciting chapter of their lives.

“The Troy United Women’s League is proud to award the 2019/2020 Scholarships to five outstanding graduates, Amber Fayson, Jaylen Deveridge and Jordan Johnson of Charles Henderson High School; Chelby Foster of Pike County High School and Megan Starling of Pike Liberal Arts School,”Parker said. “The TUWL is confident that the recipients of the TUWL 2019-2020 scholarships will achieve their educational goals and be successful in whatever course their lives take.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lee Scott, TUWL president, said the TUWL members are proud of each of the scholarship recipients and wish them success and happiness on their journeys forward.

“The TUWL scholarships are open to all seniors who plan to continue their educations at accredited colleges, universities, trade or technical schools,” Parker said. “Graduating seniors at all high schools in Pike County are eligible to apply for the scholarships.The scholarships awards were $500.”