Troy Rotary celebrates 99 years of service

Published 9:11 pm Friday, May 24, 2019

Last week the Rotary Club of Troy celebrated its 99th birthday with special music, guests and awards. 

President Maggie Hammond and Treasurer Bob Mills recognized several members as Paul Harris Fellows (PHF). Karen Herring and Doug McLendon were honored as Paul Harris Fellows, and received a certificate and pin. Amy Flowers, John Dew, Kenny Cox, Ronnie Dean and Jerry Williams were honored as multiple Paul Harris Fellows. Each received a special pin indicating his or her PHF level.

The presentation of Paul Harris Fellow recognition is The Rotary Foundation’s way of expressing its appreciation for a substantial contribution to its humanitarian and educational programs.  The mission of The Rotary Foundation is to support the efforts of Rotary International in the fulfillment of the Object of Rotary, Rotary International’s mission, and the achievement of world understanding and peace through local, national, and international humanitarian, educational and cultural programs.  The programs of The Rotary Foundation include an array of projects that save and invigorate the lives of people around the world and enhance international friendship and understanding.  Foundation programs provide food, potable water, health care, immunizations, shelter, and educational opportunities for millions of persons. Differentiating Rotary from many other organizations, these activities are funded, implemented and managed by Rotarians and Rotary clubs around the globe. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Maggie Hammond recognized Ken Cox, Sr. and John Long for their years of service to the Troy Rotary Club and to the community. Ken Cox joined the club in 1966. Both men are former club presidents and Paul Harris Fellows. She presented each man with a certificate, pin and a Rotary necktie.     

District Governor Sam Adams attended the meeting to help celebrate the special day.  He congratulated the Club on its recent honors at  District Conference, which was held in Birmingham, Alabama.

Jerry Williams received the Jerry Brunson Unsung Hero Award, which is awarded annually to a Rotarian from District 6880 who serves their community and Rotary Club for years with little or no fanfare.

Amy Flowers received the Steve James Youth Service Award, which honors a Rotarian from District 6880 who has contributed to the overall betterment of youth in their community and around the District by exemplary service and a cheerful heart. 

Benny Pinckard received the Each Rotarian: Reach One, Keep One Award, which recognizes a Rotarian who has a strong commitment to growth, as demonstrated through sponsoring new members.

Keith Roling was named the Outstanding Assistant Governor for District 6880. In addition, the Troy Rotary Club received the district award for best club bulletin for a medium-sized club. 

An award that DG Adams implemented this year is the Longevity Award.  He said that it’s unusual these days to see someone stay at the same company for 10, 20 or 30 years. It is very special when someone makes that commitment to an organization. He presented Dr. John M. Long with the Longevity Award for being a Rotarian for 60 years. Dr. Long joined the Montgomery Rotary Club in 1959, and transferred to the Troy Rotary Club in 1965. DG Adams stated that Dr. Long worked closely with his father, TSU Chancellor Ralph Adams, and Dr. Long was like a father to him.

Prior to the meeting, the group enjoyed music from a quartet comprised of Rotarians Ray Smith and James Smith, recent Troy University graduate Carrius Moore (M.S.) and Troy University student Micah Marshall. The ensemble played several pieces and concluded their set with a medley of “R.O.T.A.R.Y.” and “My Country ‘Tis of Thee.” 

Rotary International was founded in Chicago in 1905, and the Rotary Club of Troy was founded in May 1920. The club meets Tuesdays at 12:00 pm at the Troy Country Club. 

District Governor Sam Adams congratulates Jerry Williams on receiving the Jerry Brunson Unsung Hero Award.