USDA designates Pike County as primary disaster area

Published 3:00 am Thursday, December 20, 2018

WASHINGTON, Nov. 29, 2018 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated five Alabama counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Barbour, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike counties who suffered losses due to wind, rain, and flooding due to Hurricane Michael, that occurred from Oct. 10 through Oct. 11, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This designation by Secretary Perdue allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Alabama counties of Bullock, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Montgomery and Russell, along with Holmes, Jackson and Walton counties in Florida, and Clay, Early, Quitman, Seminole and Stewart counties in Georgia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is July 15, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency assistance for livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at