Polls open for runoff election

Published 3:00 am Tuesday, July 17, 2018

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today for local Republicans to cast their votes in several runoff races including the race for Pike County District Judge.

There will be no Democratic runoff ballot as every statewide and regional Democrat race was decided back on the June 5 primary. There were no local Democratic races.

There is typically a decline in participation in runoff elections compared to primaries according to Circuit Clerk Jamie Scarbrough.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Scarbrough estimates a 15 percent or higher turnout for the runoff election on

With the district judge seat available, Scarbrough hopes that voters will realize the importance of this election and cast their ballots.

“We do have a District Judge race, which is a seat that has been held by Judge (Bill) Hightower for 42 years,” Scarbrough said.

Scarbrough advocates for Pike County citizens to get engaged in the voting process,  specifically the runoff election.

“I think if we all want a voice, especially locally, its so impactful that people do get out and vote for a good qualified candidate that exemplifies whatever you want in a candidate,” she said. Change won’t happen if the same people are voting each election. Don’t solely rely on other voters to act.

“Regardless of party affiliation its always important to just go vote. Don’t talk about it if you’re not going to go vote.”

There are 34 voting precincts in the county plus a precinct counted for absentee votes and another precinct for provisional ballots. The final tally of votes becomes available seven days post-election, once the provisional ballots have been counted the election is certified.

Races on the ballot include:

• Steven Curtis and January “Jana” Blair Ellis for district judge.

• Will Ainsworth and Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh for lieutenant governor.

• Bobby Bright and Martha Roby for U.S. Rep. for Alabama’s 2nd Congressional District.

• Troy King and Steve Marshall for attorney general

• Brad Mendheim and Sarah Hicks Stewart for associate justice of the supreme court, place No. 1.

• Christy Olinger Edwards and Michelle Manley Thomason for court of civil appeals judge, place No. 1.

• Rich Anderson and Chris McCool for court of criminal appeals judge, place No. 2.

• Gerald Dial and Rick Pate for commissioner of agriculture and industries