Troy BOE makes personnel decisions

Published 3:00 am Thursday, June 14, 2018

The Troy City Schools Board of Education approved 10 new hires and three other personnel actions during a called meeting Wednesday.

Among the new hires were Erin Curtis, Troy Elementary Special Education; Kanisha Johnson, Troy Elementary teacher; Demetrius Thomas, Troy Elementary teacher; Lindsey Williams, Troy Elementary teacher; Cercicia Buchanan, Charles Henderson High School counselor; Jonathon Carswell, Charles Henderson High School science teacher; Seth Currie, Charles Henderson High School history teacher; Ashley Friday, Charles Henderson High School math teacher; Anna Marie Manning, Charles Henderson High School English teacher; and William Nettles, Charles Henderson High School Career Prep teacher.

The board approved non-renewals for Quanishia Carter, Charles Henderson Middle School math teacher, and Michael Ray, Charles Henderson High School science teacher, as well as the resignation of Debra Tarbox, Charles Henderson Middle School English teacher.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Dr. Lee Hicks, superintendent, said the new staff hires approved on Wednesday help to fill openings left by end of the year resignations and retirements. “A lot of our resignations are because people are getting married and moving away, or a spouse is moving for work,” Hicks said. “We’ve also had a lot of people retire this year …

“We want to thank those teachers for countless years of working with our system and students. They were hard to replace.”

The board approved 12 resignations and five retirements in May, along with one non-renewal. The retirements included Deborah Davis, TES third grade teacher; Tamara Herrington, TES third grade teacher; Carol Stuart, TES third grade teacher; Veronica Wiley, TES fourth grade teacher; and Lynn Wise, TES fifth grade teacher.

Resignations approved in April included Kelly Moore, TES pre-K teacher; Elly Reeves, TES pre-K teacher; Pam Edenfield, TES first grade teacher; Elizabeth Stone, CHMS social studies teacher; Spence Overstreet, CHMS in-school support aide; Zach Douglas, CHHS social studies teacher; Julia Lewis, CHHS math teacher; Jennifer Sanders, CHHS commerce and technology teacher; Floyd Graham, CHHS career prep teacher; Rachael Taylor, CHHS science teacher; Jennifer Ramirez, CHHS counselor; and Adria Hill, CHHS secretary.

The non-renewal was Casey Cameron, TES special education teacher.