Primary election is Tuesday

Published 3:00 am Saturday, June 2, 2018

By Mynecia Steele

After months of campaigning by local candidates, the primary elections will finally be held Tuesday, June 5 in Pike County.

The deadline for casting an absentee ballet has passed, but Circuit Clerk Jamie Scarbrough said anyone with an excuse related to a medical condition or business-related conflict may still vote absentee.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“You do have to sign a sworn affidavit that you did not know about it (the conflict) five days prior,” Scarbrough said.

Whether voting in person or absentee, photo identification will be required, Scarbourgh said.

“Or, if they do not have their ID, and two polling officials can identify them, they can actually sign an affidavit that they personally know the person,” said Scarbrough.

After the two polling officials sign off, the person will be allowed to vote.

With turnout for primaries typically being low, Scarbrough predicts about 3,000 to 4,000 voters to come out.

“Voter turn-out is always very important,” Scarbrough said. “I hope turnout will be good; we have some very important local races.”

For those who do not know where to go to cast their ballot this Tuesday, Scarbrough said  they can call or visit the Pike County Board of Registrars.

If Election Day approaches, and a person still is unsure of where to vote, Scarbrough said there are additional efforts in place to assist voters.

“If they happen to go to the wrong polling place the polling official will have an iPad that has the entire county’s voter registration list,” Scarbrough said.  The polling official will then direct the voter to the correct polling place.

Voters also have the option to cast a provisional ballot at an incorrect polling place if need be.

Residents will vote in 34 precincts, including the Troy Public Library, Meeksville Volunteer Fire Department, China Grove County Building, Hamilton Cross Roads, Dunn’s Voting Center No. 1, Troy Adams Armory, Saco Voting Center No. 1, Ebenezer Voting Center No. 1, Josie County Building, Enon County Building, Sweet Pilgrim Church, Banks Voting Center No. 1, Troy Recreation Department, Brundidge – Haisten Building, Tennille Methodist Church, Tarentum Community Clubhouse, Little Oak County Building, Galloway Road Community Center, Springhill Housing Authority, Pike County Courthouse, First Baptist Church, Henderson Voting Center No. 1, Goshen Town Hall, Rural Home County Building, Antioch Church of Christ, Oak Bowery Church, Dunn’s Voting Center No. 2, Banks Voting Center No. 2, Golden/Satellite Building, Ebenezer Voting Center No. 2, Henderson Voting Center No. 2, and Saco Voting Center No. 2.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., with some margin on the cutoff time. “If you are in line when the clock strikes 7, you can [still] vote,” said Scarbrough.

Pike County citizens will practice their right to vote on Tuesday with a choice between casting a Democratic or Republican ballot.

Republican voters will vote for the following positions:

• State Representative District No. 89, with Wes Allen and Marcus Paramore as candidates.

• Circuit Court Judge, 12th Judicial Circuit, Place No.1, with Henry “Sonny” Reagan and Josh Wilson running against one another.

• District Court Judge, Pike County Place No. 1, with three candidates; Steven Curtis, January (Jana) Blair Ellis, Virginia Green Nowling.

• Pike County Judge of Probate, with Micheal Bunn and Alton Starling seeking the position.

• Member of Pike County Board of Education, District No. 6, with candidates Deborah Fortune and Chris S. Wilkes.

Depending on precinct and district the following races may also appear on Republican ballots this Tuesday: Governor; Lieutenant Governor; Attorney General; Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place No. 1; Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place No. 4; Court of Civil Appeals Judge, Place No. 1; Court of Civil Appeals Judge, Place No. 2; Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place No. 1; Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place No. 2; Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place No. 3; Secretary of State; State Treasurer; State Auditor; Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries; Public Service Commission, Place No. 1; Public Service Commission, Place No. 2;

Both the Republicans and Democrats will have the opportunity to cast votes in the race to represent Alabama’s 2nd District in the United States House of Representatives.

The Republican candidates to represent Alabama’s 2nd Congressional District are Tommy Amason, Bobby Bright, Rich Hobson, Barry Moore and Martha Roby.

The Democratic candidates to represent Alabama’s 2nd Congressional District are Tabitha Isner and Audri Scott Williams.

Other races that may appear on Democratic Ballots on Election Day are: Governor, Attorney General and Secretary of State.

“It’s always important to vote for good candidates, and make sure you vote for who you think should be in office, especially with so many local races on the ballot,” said Scarbrough. “It’s always important for the people to be heard.”

Scarbrough urges voters to remember that crossover voting is now banned in Alabama, which means whichever primary a resident votes in, they can only vote in that party’s runoff.

““The crossover voting law means that once you vote in a primary, you can’t jump parties to vote in a runoff,” Scarbrough said. “In November, you can vote for whoever is in the ballot. But whichever ballot you choose in June, if there’s a runoff in July, you have to vote that same party.”