HONORED: 2017 Farm City winners named

Published 4:00 am Friday, November 10, 2017

Local farmers and students were honored Thursday night at the 2017 Pike County Farm City Banquet at the Pike County Cattlemen’s Complex.

“It’s great to be here,” said John McMillan, Alabama Commissioner of Agriculture and industries. “I always enjoy it. The food is always good, the company is always great and the awards recognized tonight are certainly well-deserved.”

Hundreds of people gathered at the complex Thursday for the award banquet.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Barbaree, Chandler and Clay Hill farms all received Century Farm Awards for cultivating their lands for over 100 years.

Pike County Extension agent Katie Thomas awarded local students that competed in poster and essay competitions.

Kindergarten through third grade winners in the poster contest were Yaley Mclendon, PLAS, first place; Gradyn Wesley, PLAS, second place; and Lillian Crawford, PLAS, third place

Fourth through sixth grade winners were Cade May, Banks, first place; Weston Garrett, PLAS, second place; and Huck Murray, Banks, third place.

Ciara Laird, New Life Christian Academy, won first place in the seventh through ninth grade essay contest.

Winners in 10th through 12th grade were Megan Starling, PLAS, first place; Sarah Elizabeth Calhoun, PLAS, second place; and Kayla Pinchon, PCHS, third place.

Winners of the Farm City media contest were Mary Grisette, GHS, first place; Trevor Benton, PCHS, second place; and Alex Henderson, PCHS, third place.

Anna Yancey and Charitee Childs shared the “Female Youth Award; “Blake Childs received the “Male Youth Award;” Cornelius Griffin won the “Conservation Award;” K&T Farm and Todd Messick received the “Poultry Award;” Jim Shaver won the “Beef Award;” Chase and Claire Flowers of Lost Pond Nursery won the “Specialty Crop” award; CL Dickert Farm and Timber claimed the “Forestry Award;” Austin r. Adler was named “Young Farmer;” Kevin Ward won the “Row-Crop Award;” Troy Shrine Club was honored for their service to agriculture and the city; Deborah Huggins-Davis was honored for service to agriculture; and Mattie Lou Renfroe received special recognition for her service in agriculture.

Editor’s note: Read more about these winners in the Messenger’s Farm City Tab inside this edition.

Click here to see even more photos from the event.