Troy’s Koenning nominated for Broyles Award

Published 3:00 am Thursday, November 9, 2017

Troy Athletics

The architect of one of the nation’s top defenses, Troy defensive coordinator Vic Koenning is a nominee for the prestigious Broyles Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top assistant coach. The Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation announced the complete 56-coach list Wednesday afternoon.

Koenning, in his third year back as Troy’s defensive coordinator, has Troy near the top of the national defensive rankings and has the Trojans in elite company as one of just four teams to have not allowed more than 24 points in a game this season along with Alabama, Wisconsin and Washington.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Troy ranks ninth nationally against the run, 13th in scoring defense and 21st in total defense. The Trojans are one of just four programs in the country to have improved in total defense each of the last five seasons with Troy’s improving by 129.9 yards over the last three seasons under Koenning.

The Trojans held LSU to 0-for-9 on third down in the stunning 24-21 defeat of the 22nd-ranked Tigers back in September and have held six of their nine opponents under the 100-yard rushing mark. Troy has allowed just one score – a field goal – on drives that started with four minutes or less in the second or fourth quarter this season and have forced a negative play on 61.2 percent of opponent drives.

Troy leads the country holding opponents to just a 60.7 percent success rate in the red zone this season and by allowing just 1.67 points per game in the second quarter. Additionally, the Trojans are fourth nationally holding opponents to just 6.56 points per game in the first half.

Under Koenning, Troy has improved its scoring defense, total defense, yards per play allowed, rushing defense, first downs allowed and tackles for loss each of the last three seasons.

An 18-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the Football Writers Association of America will select 15 semifinalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. ists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark., where the 2017 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 5th at the Marriott Hotel.