Brundidge runoff vote today

Published 3:00 am Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Polls open at 7 a.m. today at Brundidge Station for Brundidge residents to vote in a new mayor and District 5 councilman.

Cynthia Pearson and Isabell Boyd are in the runoff for mayor and Chris Foster and James Jones are in the competition for the District 5 council seat.

In the initial election, Cynthia Pearson garnered 34.96 percent of the vote and Isabell Boyd received 28.4 percent. The rest of the votes were split between Lawrence Bowden, Charlie Harris, Johnny Ross and Jamie Powell.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In District 5, Chris Foster received 42.93 percent of the vote while James Jones took in 31.41 percent. Ira Lampley took the rest of the votes.

City Manager Britt Thomas said that residents should brings photo IDs with them and be knowledgeable about which district they’re in.

“That’s important to know because of the list,” Thomas said. “Even though there’s no district races in districts 1, 2, 3 or 4, the mayor’s race is for the whole community to decide.”

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Brundidge Station is the only polling place for the election, regardless of which district a resident lives.