NAACP to hold candidate forum

Published 3:00 am Tuesday, July 26, 2016

The Pike County Commission Monday unanimously approved use of the Pike County Courthouse for a “Meet the Candidates” forum sponsored by the NAACP on Aug. 4.

Troy Councilwoman Dejerilyn Henderson requested the meeting on behalf of the NAACP. Henderson will be facing off with Wanda Moultry for the District 5 seat in August.

“The forum will be open to all Pike County candidates that are running in the August or November elections,” Henderson said. “This is a great opportunity for the community to be able to engage in the local election process. We encourage the community to come meet the candidates so they can make sound and wholesome decisions in the election.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Henderson said a panel consisting of various people from within the community will facilitate questions from citizens to the candidates.

The only question raised about the forum during the meeting was by Charlie Harris, who inquired whether there would be a security guard present, which the commission has previously established as one of the criteria for groups using the courthouse. He also asked whether it would be covered by the commission’s insurance. The answer to both questions was yes.

Commissioners Charlie Harris, Jimmy Barron, Robin Sullivan and Homer Wright all voted to allow the use of the courthouse. Chairman Joey Jackson and commissioner Ray Goodson were unable to attend the meeting. Sullivan acted as chairman in Jackson’s absence.

The four commissioners also unanimously approved for the Pike County EMA to receive an $832 Emergency Management Performance Grant from the state. Pike County EMA Director Jeanna Barnes described the grant as a salary supplement.

All other matters were forwarded to the next meeting when the full commission is expected to convene. The commission decided to begin working on the 2016-2017 budget at the second meeting in August and plans to begin that meeting at 3:00 p.m.