More hopefuls qualify

Published 3:00 am Saturday, July 16, 2016

Municipal election qualifying has slowed down as the July 19 deadline approaches, but two new candidates did qualify Friday in Brundidge, including a new entry into the mayoral race.

Jamie Powell qualified Friday to enter the race, joining Charlie Harris, Isabell Boyd, Cynthia Pearson, Johnny Ross and Lawrence Bowden.

Chris Foster also qualified, challenging Ira Lampley and James Jones for the District 5 seat in Brundidge.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

District 1 Councilwoman Betty Baxter, District 2 Councilman Arthur Griffin and District 3 Councilwoman Margaret Ross have all qualified for reelection and are running unopposed.  Long-time mayor Jimmy Ramage is running instead for the District 4 seat this year and is currently unopposed.

In Troy, there remains a three-way race for mayor between incumbent Jason Reeves, Olanda Hardy and Raymond Sexton. Hardy and Sexton qualified for the seat Monday.

Several candidates are running for the District 1 seat after veteran Charlie “Sarge” Dunn announced that he would not be running for reelection. Those candidates are Robert Jones, Anthony Jackson, Mary Helen Collins, Matthew Jordan and Jimmy Clarence Scott.

Former councilwoman Wanda Moultry is challenging Current District 5 Councilwoman Dejerilyn King Henderson for her seat. District 2 Councilman Greg Meeks and District 3 Councilman Marcus Paramore have both qualified to run for reelection and are currently unopposed. Stephanie Baker has qualified to fill the District 4 seat that is being vacated by John Witherington and is currently unopposed. Municipal elections will take place in Troy, Brundidge, Goshen and Banks on August 23.

Voters looking to vote by absentee ballot will need to contact their city clerk to apply for a ballot. Absentee ballots will be available about a week after qualifying ends.

The absentee voting deadline is August 18. Residents should contact their city clerks to request ballots or for more information about voting absentee.