Ramage qualifies for seat on council

Published 3:00 am Saturday, July 9, 2016

Brundidge Mayor Jimmy Ramage was one of the 20 candidates to qualify for municipal elections in Troy and Brundidge this week, but this time his seeking a seat on the city council instead of re-election.

Ramage qualified Wednesday to fill the District 4 council seat, currently held by Cynthia Pearson. She is one of five candidates seeking the mayoral seat. Isabell Boyd of the Brundidge Planning Commission also officially qualified for mayor this week, joining Pearson, Pike County Commissioner Charlie Harris, former councilmember Lawrence Bowden and Johnny Ross.

Incumbent Brundidge councilmembers Betty Baxter, Arthur Griffin and Margaret Ross have all qualified for reelection and are currently unopposed and Ramage is currently running unopposed for the District 4 seat. Current District 5 councilmember Steven “Nuco” Coleman has not qualified for reelection at this time. Ira Lampley has qualified for the seat and is currently running unopposed.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In Troy, two more candidates have qualified for a shot at the District 1 seat left open by retiring longtime councilman Charlie “Sarge” Dunn. The two new candidates for the position are Jimmie Clarence Scott and Matthew Jordan. Robert Jones and Anthony Jackson qualified for the District 1 seat on Tuesday.

Scott said he has been an entrepreneur in Troy for 34 years and has been considering running for the District 1 seat for a long time.

“It has always been a dream of mine to run for that seat,” he said. “I previously owned a grocery, furniture and appliance business for 25 years. I see a lot of things in the city that need strong attention. Councilmembers should have experience, ability and know-how. It shouldn’t be about getting your name out, but about going out and changing things.”

Jordan could not be reached for comment in time for publishing.

Jason Reeves also qualified for reelection as mayor and Stephanie Baker qualified for the open District 4 seat that current councilmember John Witherington decided not to seek re-election.

Baker, director of market development with KW Plastics recycling division, announced her bid for the District 4 seat in March.

“It has been very rewarding to be involved in so many aspects of the City of Troy, from local nonprofits, to cultural arts initiatives, to business development projects,” she said. “I have a unique perspective and understanding of the vital role the public sector has in our industries, our charitable interests, and our quality of life. I consider serving on the council to be an extension of my service to our community.”

Greg Meeks, Marcus Paramore and Dejerilyn King Henderson have all qualified for reelection to their respective council seats. Wanda Moultry has qualified to challenge Henderson for the District 5 seat.

Municipal elections will take place in Troy, Brundidge, Goshen and banks on August 23. Voters looking to vote by absentee ballot will need to contact their city clerk to apply for a ballot. Absentee ballots will be available about a week after qualifying ends. The absentee voting deadline is August 18. Residents should contact their city clerks to request ballots or for more information about voting absentee.