Townsend drops out of race

Published 3:00 am Thursday, February 11, 2016

A candidate for Pike County Commission District 4 has withdrawn from the Democratic primary.

Odies “Pop” Townsend said Wednesday he is dropping out of the race for health reasons.

“I just want to let the public know that I’m dropping out,” he said. “My name is still going to be appear on the ballot … but I’m no longer a candidate.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Townsend was running against Steve Thrash in the Democratic Primary for the District 4 seat being vacated by longtime commissioner R.A. Goodson.

The primary takes place March 1 and includes a number of local, state and national races.

Voters in the March 1 primary will choose to cast either Republican or Democrat ballots. Both ballots will include a vote on a statewide amendment to authorize a retirement program for district attorneys and circuit clerks hired after the Nov. 6 election.

In other races, the Republican ballot includes:

• For president, Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Lindsey Graham, Mike Huckabee, John R. Kasich, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum, Donald Trump and uncommitted.

• Candidates for delegates to the Republican National Convention.

• For U.S. Senator, Marcus Bowman, John Martin, Jonathan McConnell, Shadrack McGill and Richard Shelby.

• For U.S. Representatives, 2nd District, Becky Gerriston, Martha Roby and Robert “Bob” Rogers.

• For Alabama Supreme Court, Place 3, Donna Beaulleu and Tom Parker.

• For president, Public Service Commission, Twinkle Andres Cavanaugh and Terry Dunn

• And depending on the district, the following Pike County Commission races: District 3, Jimmy Barron and Forrest Lee; District 4, Chad Copeland and Andy Sheffield; and District 6, Joseph L. (Joey) Jackson and Russell David Johnson.

In other races, the Democratic ballot includes:

• For president, Hillary Clinton, Rocky DeLa Fuente, Martin J. O’Malley, Bernie Sanders and uncommitted.

• Candidates for delegates to the Democratic National Convention.

• For U.S. Senator, Ron Crumpton and Charles Nana.

• For state Board of Education, District 5, Ella Bell or Joanne Shum.

• Depending on residents, Pike County Commission District 4, Steve Thrash and Odies “Pop” Townsend.