Troy Music Study Club presents “Young Artists of Troy” in recital

Published 2:00 am Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Submitted Photo Patrick Jackson is the Mary Murphree Selman Scholarship Winner. Lyra Crapps was the accompanist.

Submitted Photo
Patrick Jackson is the Mary Murphree Selman Scholarship Winner. Lyra Crapps was the accompanist.

The Troy Music Study Club met Monday night April 27 in the Sanctuary of the First United Methodist Church. President Lyndia Dew called the meeting to order welcoming the members and guests. She led the Federation Collect. The Federation Hymn was sung led John Jinright and accompanied by Lyra Crapps. June kendrick, Music in Poetry chairman read “Night Mail” by W.H. Auden.

During the business session, reports were given by officers and committee chairmen. Lyra Crapps announced that during National Music Week, May 3-10, members will go to Banks Middle School and sing some International Songs. She also stated that the Mayor would sign a Proclamation announcing National Music Week. Betty Spann reported on the Alabama Federation Annual Convention which was in Huntsville, Ala. The club members voted to accept the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee for the Troy Music Study Club for 2015-2017. They are as follows: President-Lyra Crapps, Vice President-Amanda Ford, Secretary-Angie Roling, Treasurer- June Kendrick, Choral Director-Bill Denison, Accompanist-Dovie Cutchen, Reporter/Historian-Betty Spann.

After the business, Amanda Ford, program coordinator, Introduced students from Charles Henderson High School, Charles Henderson Middle School, and Pike Liberal Arts and their teachers. The Young Artists presented the following program: 1. Novela by Nancy and Randall Faber and Burlesca by Leopold Mozart- Abby Ford, piano; 2. Black Cat Walk by Ruth Perdew and golden Pavilion by Edwin Mclean- Mario Robledo, piano; 3. Soul Searcher by Dennis Alexander and Minute in G by Christian Pezold- Isbel Robledo, piano; 4. “My New Philosophy” from You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown by Clark Geser- Ingrid Lieb, soprano; 5. “Taylor the Latte Boy” by Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich- Fraulje Lieb , soprano;6. The Prayer by Sager and Foster-Ethan Barnes, trumpet, 7. Serenade by Franz Joseph Haydn-Tionna Douglas, flute; 8. Concerto for Trumpet, second movement by Franz Joseph Haydn-Nicole Eikmeir, trumpet; 9.Concerto in Eb by A.K. Glasunov-Patrick Jackson, alto saxophone. Jackson is the recipient of the Mary Murphree Selman Scholarship given by the Troy Music Study Club.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Following the program, refreshments were served in the Round Room by the Special Events Committee and club members. The last club meeting of this club year will be a Members Recital May 18 in the home of Dovie Cutchen.

The Troy Music Study Club, founded in 1905, will celebrate its 110th birthday in October 2015. It is affiliated with the National Federation of Music Clubs and the Alabama Federation of Music Clubs.