UPDATED: Sun Belt to add four schools in 2014

Published 5:35 pm Wednesday, March 27, 2013

The official announcement came down today – March 27 – that Georgia Southern and Appalachian State will be joining the Sun Belt Conference in all sports on July 1, 2014. SBC commissioner Karl Benson announced that Idaho and New Mexico State will also join the conference at the same time.

The addition of the two FCS school will give the Sun Belt 12 football members. This will enable the Sun Belt to host a conference championship game.

Recent events have put a bulls-eye on the back of current SBC member Western Kentucky. It is expected that the Hilltoppers will get a phone call from Conference USA when Tulsa makes the jump to the Big East. Both of those moves seem imminent.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Outside of the schools mentioned above, no other institutions have been named as a possible replacement if WKU or any other school leaves. Social media chatter has named James Madison as a potential addition but that seems to be rumor mill material as of now.

2014 Sun Belt Conference (football)

South Alabama
Western Kentucky
Texas State
Georgia State
Georgia Southern
Appalachian State
Arkansas State
New Mexico State