Logging ordinance tabled indefinitely in Pike County

Published 11:00 pm Wednesday, November 14, 2012

County Commissioners took their seats for the first time since the General Election. Commissioners Robin Sullivan, Jimmy Barron, Homer Wright, Ray Goodson, Charlie Harris were re-elected to the commission. District 6 Commissioner Joey Jackson is new to his position.

Pike County commissioners were sworn in Wednesday afternoon before the commission’s work session and meeting.

New District 6 Commissioner Joey Jackson joined returning commissioners Robin Sullivan, Jimmy Barron, Homer Wright, Ray Goodson and Charlie Harris.

At the commission meeting, releasing ATRIP funds for work on the girder bridge and approaches on County Road 2214 and for resurfacing County Road 2201 to County Road 2203 was approved. The commission also voted on a project to clean up scrap tires.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Also at the meeting, the commission voted to approve the annual reappraisal budget revision; allow family medical leave for a county employee; and renew the yearly contract with the Lee County Youth Development Center for juvenile detention services.

Because state offices will be closed the Friday after Thanksgiving, the commission voted to award that Friday as a holiday to county employees since their work would be hindered by the state closures.

With many area loggers present, the commission agreed to table a decision about a proposed logging ordinance. Instead, they will form a committee made up of commission representatives (Sullivan, Goodson and Harris), County Engineer Russell Oliver and up to 10 loggers in order to come up with an appropriate logging ordinance for Pike County, rather than adopting one suggested by the State Association of County Commissioners.

Commissioner Wright was appointed the commission chair and Sullivan was appointed vice chair. The commission approved keeping with the schedule of meeting every second and fourth Monday of each month beginning at 5:15 p.m. with a work session.

The next scheduled commission meeting is Nov. 26.