Polls open at 7 today

Published 11:00 pm Monday, November 5, 2012

From the amount of people updating their voter registration and registering to vote, this Election Day looks to be one of the biggest in Pike County history.

“I think we are going to probably have the largest turnout ever,” said Pike County Board of Registrars Chair Melissa Ingram. “People have been lining up to register.”

Pike County Probate Judge Wes Allen said 62 percent of registered voters in Pike County made it out to the polls in 2008 for the last presidential election.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“We expect at least that turn out this time,” Allen said.

Polls open at 7 a.m. today and close at 7 p.m., but it could be close to midnight before results are in.

“Poll workers have to open bins and tally all write in candidates, so it will take a little longer getting returns in,” Ingram shared. “That will be a big difference in this election compared to other recent ones.”

Voters who are unsure where to cast their vote can call 566-1757 for assistance, or log on to pikecountyboardofregistrars.com

The website is also host to photos and directions to all polling locations. Sample ballots are also available to view.

As part of a local voting initiative, there is also transportation available to those who don’t have a way to make it to the polls.

2012 Voting Initiative Community Project Sponsors can be reached to arrange a ride at (334) 482-0380 or (334) 372-5474, or by emailing prcac@troycable.net or anmallory@yahoo.com. Transportation will be available from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.

Local contested races include Jamie Scarbrough and Daryl Calhoun for circuit clerk; Homer Wright and Walter Murphy for county commissioner District 1; Jimmy Barron and Samuel Lewis for county commissioner District 3; Ray Goodson and Ryan Flowers for county commissioner District 4; Doristine Sankey and Joey Jackson for county commissioner District 6; and Chris Wilkes and Jim Knight for Pike County Board of Education District 6.