Peanut Butter 5K attracts 60 runners

Published 6:00 pm Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Josh Burgens and Nena Fountain were the overall winners in the 2012 Peanut Butter 5K Run held in conjunction with the Peanut Butter Festival in Brundidge on Saturday. Sixty runners, from age six to 80-something participate in the run. The overall winner, Josh Burgens with a time of 19:11, was awarded the traditional “Peanut Butter Runner” trophy designed by Brundidge artist Larry Godwin.

For 14 years “running,” Angie Westberg had competed in the Peanut Butter 5K Run at the annual Peanut Butter Festival in Brundidge.

But, this year, she was “running” the 5K and did an outstanding job, said Lawrence Bowden, president of Brundidge Historical Society, sponsor of the annual Peanut Butter Festival.

“Angie and all of her volunteers did an incredible job of planning and carrying out the Peanut Butter Run,” Bowden said. “We appreciate their efforts and all of those who participated. The sixty runners was the largest number that we’ve had in many years and that was exciting.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Westberg said she agreed to organize the 5K Peanut Butter Run because it’s a good, flat course.

“There’s not a course like that anywhere around and we wanted to keep it going,” she said. “It’s flat and it’s fast and we like that.

“We had excellent volunteers who kept accurate times and everything went very smoothly,” Westberg said. “The mayor (Jimmy Ramage) came and rang the cowbell to start the race.”

The youngest runner in the Peanut Butter 5K Run was Emily Price who is six years old and oldest runner was Winston Howell at age eighty-something.

Fifteen military runners participated.

The overall winner of the 2012 5K Peanut Butter Run in the male division was Josh Burgens with a time of 19:11. The overall winner in the female division was Nena Fountain with a time of 23:11.

The winners in the male division were: Through age19, Clayton Suell, 24:41, first; and Will Price, 28:52, second.

Ages 20-29, Jeremy Burkett, 19:38 first; Scott Covington, 20:29, second; and Anthony Kilpatrick, 24:33, third.

Ages 30-39, Francis Lyons, 20:44, first; Gordon Hatcher, 26:43, second; and Martin Sexton, 28:38, third.

Ages 40-49, Bruce Hall, 23:06, first; Brad Trawant, 26:21 second; and Gary Rushing, 28:37, third.

Ages 50-59, Theron Carter, 19:43.

Ages 60 and over, Winston Howell, 25:35, first; Robert Lee, 26:44, second; and Joe McCall, 31:51, third.

The winners in the female division were: Through age 19, Baley Rushing, 26:50, first; Ali Rushing, 28:15, second; and Emily Price, 33:52, third.

Ages 20-29, Lisa Klekowski, 23:50, first; Sandy Walker, 28:04, second; and AJ Silva, 30:55, third.

Ages 30-30, Nena Fountain, 23:11, first; Alexa Suell, 25:02, second; and Audra Lyons, 27:59, third.

Ages 40-49, Gina Andrews, 26:11, first; Nicole Helms, 28:05, second; and Karen Ross, 29:39, third.

Ages 50-59, Ann Bagley, 26:40, first; Gloria Dyess, 30:49, second; and Becky Simmons, 42:58, third.