Final day for absentee voters

Published 11:00 pm Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Today is the last day to apply for an absentee ballot for next week’s municipal elections.

Voters who won’t be able to make it to the polls themselves should mail a request for an absentee ballot, or stop by the city hall in Brundidge, Troy or Goshen before 5 p.m. today.

In Troy, 308 absentee ballots have been requested so far in District 5, 79 have been requested in District 1 and four were requested in District 3, according to Troy City Clerk Alton Starling.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“It seems that people are wanting to vote, at least absentee,” Starling said. “The turn out for the polls, we’ll have to see.”

Those who visit Starling’s office in Troy tomorrow can show a form of identification and actually fill out an absentee ballot at that time.

“We’ll seal it up and put it in the voting box,” Starling said.

Municipal elections for Goshen, Brundidge and Troy are set for Tuesday. Banks will not hold an election due to uncontested seats and the city will need to appoint one other council member to have a full council.

In Troy, incumbent Councilman Charlie Dunn and Shelby Tuck are running for District 1; Marcus Paramore and Todd Kreis are vying for the District 3 council seat; and Dejerilyn Henderson is challenging incumbent Wanda Moultry in District 5.

In Goshen, Michael Sanders and incumbent Jack Waller want to be mayor. And Darren Jordan, Carter Sanders, Mack Barber, Malon Johnson, Jimmy Bryan, William McMaster and William McLeod are all running for at large council seats.

Brundidge is reporting the most candidates ever on the ballot for the city. Incumbent Jimmy Ramage, Michael Foster and Jamie Lee Powell are running for mayor; incumbent Lawrence Bowden and Betty Baxter want to represent District 1; incumbent Arthur Lee Griffin and former councilwoman Jaine Treadwell hope to claim the District 2 seat; newcomers Andrea Bailey, Terry Casey, Anthony Foster and Margaret Ross want to represent District 3; incumbent Cynthia Pearson and Byron Gaynor hope to be the District 4 councilperson; and incumbent Steven Coleman and Isabell Boyd are vying to take the District 5 position.