Primary deadline passes

Published 9:19 am Monday, January 16, 2012

Qualifying for the March primaries in Pike County ended Friday with only a few positions left unchallenged.

In the race for Pike County Commission seats, Homer C. Wright, D, and Walter Murphy, R, will go head to head in District 1; Robin Sullivan, R, is running unopposed in District 2; Samuel Lewis, D, Jimmy Barron, R, and Mike Hall, R, are in the running for District 3; Roy Goodson, D, Brett Vann, R, and Ryan Flowers, R, are vying for the District 4 spot; Charlie Harris, D, and Isabell “Fronnie” Boyd, D, both want to represent District 5; and District 6 has the most qualifying candidates with Doristine F. Sankey, D, Oren Fannin, R, Joey Jackson, R, and Jeffrey Knight, R.

There wasn’t as much interest in the Pike County Board of Education seats as in the county commission. Herbert Reynolds, D, and Clint Foster, Ph.D., D, both want to represent District 5 and Ken Styron, D, James H. (Jim) Knight, D and Chris Wilkes, R are in the race for the District 6 spot.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Wes Allen, R, is unopposed in his desire to be probate judge and Daryl Calhoun, D, and Jaime Neeley Scarbrough, R, are running for the circuit clerk position.

The Republican Party also reports that Judge Thomas Head has qualified for the 12th Circuit Court of Appeals and William Hightower is running for district judge.