Troy announces mid-year signing class

Published 6:24 pm Thursday, January 12, 2012

Troy announced the signing of several football players during the mid-year signing period. 15 athletes inked National Letters of Intent to attend Troy University. The class is made up of mostly junior college transfers.

Some of the most notable names include quarterback Deon Anthony and offensive lineman Chris Hawkins.

Anthony, a transfer from Hinds Community College, chose Troy over both Kentucky and Pittsburg. Defensive ends coach and recruiting coordinator Randy Butler and offensive coordinator Kenny Edenfield agree that Deon Anthony will provide great competition at the quarterback position as well as another dimension with his running ability. In his sophomore season at Hinds, Anthony threw for 2,202 yards and 18 touchdowns while he was intercepted only seven times. Anthony also ran for 461 yards and nine touchdowns.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“Deon will provide competition at the position,” Edenfield said. “Everyone improves when there is competition.”

Troy looses three offensive linemen from last season and Hawkins will be looked at to move into the tackle position. Hawkins initially signed with Troy two year ago but opted for junior college.

“He is a guy who can provide immediate help,” said Butler. “He moves well and is a big, physical guy.”

The Trojans also picked up much-needed help on special teams. With punter Will Goggans and kicker Michael Taylor both graduating, Troy filled those holes with Will Scott and Ryan Kay.

Scott, from Gulf Coast Community College, averaged 43.3 yards per punt and was named second team All-American. Kay greyshirted last year and will look to take over the kicking duties.

First Coast High School early graduate Shaq Beverly will add depth in the secondary for a Trojans defense that finished 101st last season in pass defense. Beverly was rated the 68th best corner in the nation by ESPN. Troy also picked up cornerback Jeremy Spikner from Northeast Mississippi Community College.