Four Trojans selected to All-Sun Belt team

Published 11:42 am Monday, July 18, 2011

Troy University landed four players on the Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Team while the Trojans are picked to finish second in the Presason Coaches Poll  released Monday.

Defensive end Jonathan Massaquoi, who was also named Preseason Defensive Player of the Year, and linebacker Xavier Lamb were chosen to the Preseason All-Sun Belt Defensive Team.

Massaquoi becomes the third Trojan in eight years to earn a preseason player of the year award. The senior end recorded 13.5 sacks a year ago and has also been named to the watch lists for the Lombardi, Nagurski and Bednarik Awards.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lamb led Troy in tackles with 91 last year while starting all 13 games.

Quarterback Corey Robinson and offensive tackle James Brown were named to the Preseason All-Sun Belt Offensive Team.

Robinson, the lone sophomore on the list, threw for 3,726 yards averaging 286 yards per game last year with 28 touchdowns. Corey was named to the Davey O’Brian watch list last week. The award is given to the nation’s top quarterback.

Brown, a 6-foot 4-inch 337 pound senior, has started all 26 games for the Trojans the past two seasons.

 Only FIU (six) and Arkansas State (five) had more players selected to the preseason teams. Troy was picked to finish behind Florida International in the Coaches Poll recieving two first place votes.

Troy reports to camp August 2 and will kick off their season at Clemson on September 3. The game will be televised on ESPN3.

The Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Team is selected by the head coach of each institution and a media representative from each institution.
Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Offense
Corey Robinson (Troy, So., QB)
Lance Dunbar (NT, Sr., RB)
Bobby Rainey (WKU, Sr., RB)
Dwayne Frampton (ASU, Sr., WR)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., WR)
Luther Ambrose (ULM, Sr., WR)
Ladarius Green (ULL, Sr., TE)
Tom Castilaw (ASU, Sr. OL)
Caylin Hauptmann (FIU, Jr., OL)
Ryan McCaul (ULM, Sr., OL)
Matt Tomlinson (NT, Sr., OL)
James Brown (Troy, Sr., OL)
Wes Jeffries (WKU, Sr., OL)
Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Defense
Dorvus Woods (ASU, Sr., DL)
Tourek Williams (FIU, Jr., DL)
Ken Dorsey (ULM, Sr., DL)
Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, Jr., DL)
Demario Davis (ASU, Sr., LB)
Winston Fraser (FIU, Jr., LB)
Xavier Lamb (Troy, Sr., LB)
Kelcie McCray (ASU, Sr., DB)
Jonathan Cyprien (FIU, Jr., DB)
Marcus Bartels, FAU, Sr., DB)
Darius Prelow (ULM, Sr., DB)
Preseason All-Sun Belt Special Teams
Alan Gendreau (MT, Sr., Kicker)
Mickey Groody (FAU, Sr., Punter)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., Return Specialist)
Co-Preseason Offensive Players of the Year
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., WR)
Lance Dunbar (NT, Sr., RB)
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, Jr., DL)
The Preseason Sun Belt Conference Coaches Poll is selected by the head coach of each institution.  First place votes in parenthesis.
Team                                                   Points
1. FIU                                                   75 (5)
2. Troy                                                 66 (2)
T-3. Middle Tennessee                   54
T-3. Louisiana-Monroe                    54
5. Arkansas State                             49 (1)
6. North Texas                                   33
7. WKU                                                28 (1)
8. Louisiana-Lafayette                     26
9. Florida Atlantic                              20