Chamber presents annual awards

Published 8:01 pm Thursday, March 31, 2011

The Pike County Chamber of Commerce hosted the 2011 Chamber Awards at noon Thursday at the Troy Country Club and recognized businesses, industries and individuals that have made outstanding contributions to the business community during the year.

The awards were presented by Bridget Riley, Chamber board second vice chair.

The 2011 Business of the Year Award, which is designed to recognize dedication, innovation and entrepreneurial spirit, was presented to CGI of Troy.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Troy Cable was recognized as the Best Service Business of the Year.

“The Non-Profit Organization of the Year award was presented to Habitat for Humanity, which is an excellent non-profit organization that solves problems, helps with needs and enriches Pike County through active volunteerism and community endeavors.

Troy Regional Medical Center was the recipient of the Outstanding Customer Service Award for constantly and consistently demonstrating the ability to exceed customer expectations, Riley said.

The Industry of the Year Award was presented to Sikorsky Support Service. The award is presented to an outstanding industry/manufacturer working in or providing service to the manufacturing, extracting or processing sector in Pike County.

“The Young Professional of the Year was awarded to Troy Weed, an extraordinary young Pike Countian who has made significant contributions to his profession as well as the community,” Riley said.

The Wal-Mart Distribution Center in Brundidge was recognized as the Business or Industry Most Committed to the Community. The award is given for contributions, dedication and exceptional supportive efforts to the Pike County community.

The Most Promising New Business recipient was Victorian Spa. The award is given to a new or relocating business that demonstrates excellence and achievement in ownership and/or management.

Renee Dickerson was named the Chamber Board Member of the Year. The award is based on the board member’s commitment, leadership and dedication to the advancement of the Chamber and its policies.

“The recipient of the Most Devoted Volunteer Award was Dianna Lee,” Riley said. “This award is given to a volunteer who performs exemplary, selfless volunteer work and contributes to the community and serves as an inspiration to others.”

Matt Baker was recognized for his numerous volunteer hours and his professional expertise with the Behind the Scenes Award.

Adam Drinkwater, Chamber board chair, congratulated the award winners for their outstanding commitment to the Pike County business community.

“The year 2010 was a very successful one for the Chamber but it was not without challenges,” he said. “But those challenges were met with a spirit of cooperation and faith in one another and the support of the community.”

Chamber President Kathy Sauer was the featured speaker for the annual meeting and said that with a month of Chamber leadership to her credit, she is in awe of everyone and the experience.

“The Pike County Chamber of Commerce is a vibrant organization and must take ‘active steps’ to reach its goals,” she said. “Those steps might be small at first but they will take the Chamber where it needs to go to be successful.”