TREASURE Forest chapter honors members

Published 6:47 pm Friday, February 4, 2011

The reins of the Pike County Chapter of the Alabama TREASURE Forest Association have been passed to a younger generation.

“And, that’s very encouraging and exciting,” said Keith Roling, outgoing Chapter president. “At our annual dinner meeting Thursday night, I handed the gavel to Russell Johnson and he brings with him a new and younger board of directors. They will bring new ideas and energy to the Pike County Chapter and will assure its future.”

Roling said that the highlight of the dinner meeting was the handing over the “reins of power” but it was also a time to recognize 14 properties that were granted Treasure Forest renewals.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“We were proud to have so many renewals but we didn’t have a TREASURE Forest property to add to the list this year,” Roling said. “But we expect to have others in the near future.

“We have a very active association with 179 members and 70 of those were present at the dinner meeting. That was good representation, especially on a cold, rainy night.”

Roling said the 2010 board members did an outstanding job and expressed appreciation to them for a job well done and for their commitment to the preservation and good stewardship of Pike County’s woodlands. Patti Powell, director of land acquisition for the State of Alabama, was the featured dinner speaker and provided information about current forestry projects and how land is acquired for state programs.

The newly elected officers of the Pike County Chapter of the Alabama TREASURE Forest Association were introduced. Russell Johnson will head the executive board with Brad Phillips as vice president, Debra H. Davis, secretary and Claire Murphy, treasurer.

Other members of the executive board are Nelda Price, Cliff Eubanks, Keith Roling, Charles Rawls and Michael Hughes.

The Chapter’s regional directors were also announced. Board members from the Northwest Region are Charles Bennett, Debra Davis, Edgar Fannin and Todd Kries. From the Southwest Region, the board members are Roy Kendrick, Gus King, Scott Maddox and Nelda Price.

Board representatives from the Northeast Region are Joe Murphy, Malon Murphy, Walter Murphy and Sweetie Mae Siler and, from the Southeast Region, Ellis Bush, Gayle Foster, Fox Hughes and Michael Hughes.

Randy Hale, NRCS, is the board member at large.