Barbara Gibson appointed to state water commission

Published 10:47 pm Friday, February 5, 2010

Barbara Gibson of Troy has been appointed to the Alabama Water Resources Commission to represent the 2nd Congressional District. She will fill the unexpired term of the late Dr. Don Hines of Troy.

She was appointed by House Speaker Seth Hammett.

Gibson is executive director of the Choctawhatchee, Pea and Yellow Rivers Watershed Management Authority, CPYRWMA, a state agency that manages the watershed in southeast Alabama.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“I’m very excited to have the opportunity to serve as a member of this important commission,” Gibson said. “I hope to make a positive contribution in addressing the critical water issues facing our state.”

In her position with the CPYRWMA, Gibson has coordinated major water-related projects, including the federal levee rehabilitation projects in Elba and Geneva.

She has also coordinated comprehensive ground and surface water assessments, aquifer recharge studies, water supply availability evaluations and on-going water quality monitoring in the watersheds, which consist of 2,328,000 acres.

Gibson oversees the operation of a Basin Wide Flood Warning System, which consists of 17 rain and river gauges in seven counties.

In addition to her other responsibilities, Gibson serves on the Water Resources Technical Advisory Subcommittee to the Permanent Joint Legislative Committee on Water Policy Management.

She is a member of the State Hazard Mitigation Council, the Alabama Section of the American Water Resources Association, the Wiregrass Forum, the Joint Land Use Study Team for Fort Rucker and the Envision Dothan Task Force.

The Alabama Water Resources Commission was established by the Alabama Water Resources Act.

The commission is responsible for advising the governor, the presiding officers of the Senate and House, the ADECA director and the division chief of the Office of Water Resources on all matters related to water of the State of Alabama.