TPRD tourney teams released

Published 9:40 pm Wednesday, June 10, 2009

It is that time again in Troy, Alabama. The selection of tournament teams for many leagues in the Troy Parks and Recreation Dixie League has passed and the teams are on the practice field.

“This is an exciting time for the kids,” said David Dickey, TPRD youth sports coordinator. “All these teams have a new start and a new goal. Just being selected is an experience in itself.”

Dickey said there will be more players participating in postseason tournaments that ever before in TPRD history. There are 17 baseball teams and four softball teams competing this year.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Teams already selected include, Dixie Ozone Americans Tournament, Dixie Ozone Nationals Tournament, Dixie Ozone Rookies, Dixie Ozone American All-Stars, Dixie Ozone Nationals All-Stars, Pre-Minor, Ponytails, Angels and Darlings.

The Dixie Ozone Americans Tournament team includes, Hunter Baggett, Baylor Barnes, Xavius Burden, Jason Fleming, HT Fountain, Reilly Fox, Patrick Henderson, Rush Hixon, Joel Kervin, Cole LaBrant, DeAndre Pitts and Marquis Simmons.

The Dixie Ozone Nationals Tournament team includes, Charles Allen, Kayla Benton, Chase Hartley, Devin Hooks, Austin Ingram, Jerrell Lawson, John Renfroe, Reid Rials, Cole Roberts, Trip Roberts, Andrew Starling and Bryant Stephens.

The Dixie Ozone Americans and Nationals both open district tournament play in Eufaula June 26.

The Dixie Ozone Rookie Tournament team includes, William Adler, Hunter Blackmon, Montana Brown, Cody Henderson, Morgan Hutchinson, Jarrett Jordan, Eric Lee, Hayes Lee, Kiegan Simmons, Morgan Sullivant, Cole Wilson and Ty Witherington.

The Ozone Rookies open tournament play June 26 in Troy for the district tournament.

The Dixie Ozone American All-Stars square off with the Ozone Nationals Friday at 5:45 p.m. in an all-star doubleheader.

The American All-Stars include, Matthew Barron, Blake Childs, Carter Edwards, Joel Faulkner, Tucker Floyd, Cyree Foster, Jaron Knox, Tommy Price, William Price, Peyton Sanders, Bailey Singleton and Tobias Youngblood.

The National All-Stars include, Tucker Avant, Hunter Blackmon, Perry Bunn, Xavier Burden, Ian Busby, Dalton Faulkner, Wright Graning, Morgan Hutchinson, Daniel Macias, Avery Phelps, Tyler Phillips and Kendrez White.

The Pre-Minor Tournament team includes, Laertis Brantley, Tristen Carter, Jackson Giles, Cody Hollis, Brock Huner, Noah Lowery, Daniel Phillips, Noah Phillips, Will Reeves, Lawson Scarbrough, De’Quavian Toney and Colby Williams.

The Pre-Minor team opens play in Troy June 26 in the district tournament.

The Ponytails Tournament team includes, Kayli Adams, Amberlynn Baker, Chelsea Carr, Kayla Dendy, Christina Goshea, Kelli Grant, Shelby Hughes, Laken Little, Laken Maulden, Meredith Motes, Paige Riley and Taylor Shelton.

The Ponytails team opens sub-district tournament action June 25 in South Dale.

The Angels Tournament team includes, Casey Allen, Caitlin Bobo, Katie Callin, Kassidy Davis, Haleigh Dewberry, Amanda Finlayson, Lindsey Fox, Carmen Kelly, Tessa Little, Lexie Motes, Marah-Katelin Paramore and Lakin Turner.

The Angels open sub-district action June 25 in Dothan.

The Darlings Tournament team includes, Sabra Daniels, Tucker Earles, Alyssa English, Sydni Garrett, Haylee Hollingshead, Holly Hughes, Nelsey Leverette, Bailey Rushing, Molly Kate Sanders, Grace Scarbrough, Mya Terry and Samantha Yarbrough.

The Darlings open sub-district play in Luverne June 26.