Soccer tourney teams released

Published 2:15 am Tuesday, October 28, 2008

The regular season is finished, but 62 athletes in the Troy area are still practicing soccer at the Sportsplex.

The Alabama Recreation & Parks Association district tournaments begin this weekend and Troy will field five teams for the competition. Four of those teams were selected last Thursday.

The 13U tournament team, the 11U tournament team, the 9U boys’ and 9U girls’ team have been practicing since Saturday. The 18U team has yet to be selected, but will be announced when the Troy Parks and Recreation Department picks the team and releases the names.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The 9U boys’ team, 11U team and 13U team open with district play Saturday. The 9U team will head to Andalusia and the 11U and 13U teams travel to Eufaula.

The 9U girls’ team and the 18U team will open up play Nov. 15 in the state tournament in Dothan.

If the other three win their district tournament they head to Dothan Nov. 15 as well.

The selection meetings for the district tournaments will be held later this week and the opponents and times of the games will be released when known.

The 13U Troy team includes, Austin Adler, Hunter Baggett, Kenneth Blackmon III, Madison Carpenter, Tanner Dansby, Alexander Dorrity, Trey Foster, Nathan Fox, Becca Hartley, Hunter Kennedy, Luke Labrant, Brantley LeCroy, Elizabeth McKenzie, Scott McLendon, Mitchell Mobley, Victoria Outlaw, Robert Salmon and Jessica Wilkes. Doug McLendon is the 13U head coach.

The 11U Troy team includes, William Adler, Baylor Barnes, Ian Busby, Jason Fleming, Reilly Fox, Wright Graning, Chase Hartley, Jaron Knox, Cole Labrant, Jack Labrant, Meredith Motes, Benjamin Salmon, Kiegan Simmons and Andrew Wilson. Ken Labrant is the 11U head coach.

The 9U boys’ team includes, Adam Bensinger, Decklan Brooks, Cameron Bush, Zain Day, Dalton Earles, Dawson Hamlin, Michael Jennelle, Clay Labrant, Noah Lowery, Toler Richburg, Richard Sessions, Trae Sullivant, Jalen Tuck, Logan Wilson and Stewart Wilson. Daniel Earles will be the 9U boys’ head coach.

The 9U girls’ team includes, Graceson Adams, Sidney Armstrong, Bethany Balkcom, Jordyn Banta, Caitlin Bob, Danielle Brown, Peighton Carpenter, Tamava Davenport, Lacy Earles, Lindsey Fox, Breanna Guice, Nelsey Leverette, Abigail Salmon, Shelby Shivar and Rose Snyder. Matt Leverette is the 9U girls’ head coach.

The 11U team will attempt to finish what they started last year when they head to districts this year. The team was the runner-up last year in the state tournament and they return most of their player’s from last year’s team.

The 11 year olds on that same team won the state title as a 9U team in 2006. The 11U team also brought home the state title in 2006.