Edenfield snags ASWA offensive player of the week

Published 9:32 pm Tuesday, October 14, 2008

After three-straight losses, Charles Henderson’s football team needed to get untracked.

K.D. Edenfield helped the Trojans right the ship on Friday night in a 28-14 win over Rehobeth. For his effort, he was also named Alabama Sports Writers Association offensive player of the week.

Edenfield accounted for 310 all-purpose yards and all four touchdowns in Charles Henderson’s 28-14 win over Rehobeth. Edenfield was 11-of-17 passing for 254 yards and one touchdown and rushed for three TDs on eight carries and 34 yards. He also had 32 yards in punt returns.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

He edged out Drew Phillips of Boaz and Darion Sutton of Shelby County for offensive honors. Phillips set a school record with 326 yards rushing on 30 attempts with touchdown runs of 53, 63, 57 and 48 yards in a 35-14 win over Southside-Gadsden. Sutton had a busy 3:17 stretch of the first half against Moody, sandwiching touchdown runs of 46 and 1 yard around a 33-yard interception return for a score to give the Wildcats to a 21-0 start en route to a 40-14 win.

On the other side of the ball, Parker Hollingshead of UMS-Wright stepped up in a big way to earn ASWA defensive/special teams honors. Hollingshead moved from linebacker to the line and had four sacks in a 35-13 win over W.S. Neal.

The two finalists were Brian Egan of Prattville and Leland Baker of Erwin. Egan had four field goals (37, 51, 32 and 33 yards) to go with three extra-point attempts as Prattville came from a 19-10 deficit for a 33-19 win over Stanhope Elmore. Baker had 12 tackles, including nine solo, with three sacks and a 51-yard interception return for touchdown in a 60-8 win over Carver-Birmingham.

Some 61 players were nominated in this week’s list from ASWA members in Albertville, Birmingham, Centre, Dothan, Florence, Fort Payne, Gadsden, Grove Hill, Huntsville, Mobile, Montgomery, and Oneonta, while the top three were chosen by an ASWA panel.