Pike County#039;s Grant named 3A Coach of the Year

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 3, 2007

Less than a month after raising the Alabama High School Athletic Association Class 3A state championship trophy toward the heavens, the accolades continue to roll in for the Pike County High School Bulldogs.

After completing a 14-1 run that saw the Bulldogs earn their second state title in as many years, and their third in four seasons, Pike County head coach Wayne Grant was named Class 3A State Coach of the Year by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

During Grant's tenure at the helm of the Pike County football program, the Bulldogs have won five state championships and have claimed back-to-back titles twice.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In 1988 and 1989, the longtime coach of the Bulldogs led Pike County to back-to-back Class 4A crowns.

Fourteen years later, the Bulldogs captured their first Class 3A title. The Bulldogs added their fourth state championship in 2005.

Under Grant, the Bulldogs have never lost in a state championship game.

The accolades didn't stop with the coach, however.

Five of Grant's players were tabbed as all-state selections.

Senior quarterback Tobias Lee was named to the all-state team after tossing 41 touchdowns for the Bulldogs.

Lee was joined by Super Six Class 3A MVP Kevin Marshall, offensive lineman Daniel Garrett, linebacker Martez Boykin and running back Darrell Reynolds.