Primary set for Tuesday

Published 12:00 am Saturday, May 29, 2004

If Jerry Williams, chairman of the Pike County Democratic Party, is right there will be a big turnout for Tuesday's primary election.

"Our candidates have been working hard and made a lot of contacts," Williams said of the Democratic candidates for the Pike County Commission. "I'm very excited about the interest that has been generated for this election. Tuesday should be very interesting and I expect a good turnout."

Williams would not go out on a limb and speculate about tight races.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

"Everybody has been working hard and there's definitely a lot of interest out in the community, especially in specific districts," he said. "But, whether we'll have any close races, would be difficult to call right now."

Williams said contested seats make any election interesting and create a healthy political climate.

Neither Donnie Ingram, chair of the Pike County Republican Party, nor Jimmy Copeland, vice chair, could be reached for comment on Saturday.

Although Lawrence Bowden, past chair, is not the official spokesman the county Republican party, he said the party is hopeful of a good turnout for the primary,

"To me personally, it is a very important part of public life to go to the polls and guide the course of our government at all levels by selecting the best qualified people to fill our public offices,' he said. "We have some excellent candidates on the Republican ballot. Everyone should choose the one they feel will do the best job representing them. So, I would encourage everyone to get out Tuesday and vote for the candidate of their choice."

On the ballot for Pike County Commission are:

€ District 1: Earnest Green, Homer Wright, Lovell Martin, all Democrats, and Diane LaFountain, Republican.

€ District 2: Incumbent Larry Meeks and Republican challenger Robin Sullivan.

€ District 3: Republicans Shane Calhoun, Johnny Garrett, Jimmy Barron and Donna S. McLaney and Democrat James Alex Neal.


District 4, incumbent Ray Goodson and Democratic challenger Noah G. Black.

€ District 5, incumbent Charlie Harris and Democratic challengers Jeffery Baker and James Davenport.


Commission District 6, incumbent Karen Berry and Democratic challengers Lila (Jean) Furlow and Danny Rhodes; and Republicans David Carpenter and Terry Hassett.

Republican Wyman Botts, Republican, is unopposed for Pike County Board of Education District 3, as is Democrat Linda Steed in District 4.

Pike County Probate Judge Bill Stone said if it were not for the county commission races, there probably would not be much interest in the June 1 primary.

"There are two or three contested state races and an amendment that doesn't' affect Pike County," he said. "Our county commission races have stirred us some interest that will help voter turnout. Without them, turnout would be miserable."

Polls will open statewide at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Precincts include

1. Troy Community Complex - gymnasium, 500 E. Elm Street, Troy

2. Meeksville - Meeksville VFD, Rt. 3, Troy

3. China Grove - County Voting Building, China Grove Community

4. Hamilton Crossroads - Hamilton Crossroads Church of Christ

5. Needmore - Child's Grocery, Needmore Road, Troy

6. Adams Armory - 202 George Wallace Drive, Troy

7. Saco - Saco VFD, Saco Community

8. Ebenezer - County Voting Building at Old Ebenezer School

9. Josie - County Voting Building, Josie Community

10. Enon - County Voting Building, Enon Community

11. M.P. Church - Millitant Pillar Ground on Truth Church, Pronto Community

12. Banks - Banks City Hall, Highway 29, Banks

13. Park Memorial Church - Park Memorial UMC, 750 Elba Highway, Troy

14. Brundidge Haisten Building, Haisten Building, Main Street, Brundidge

15. Tennille - Trawick Sign Co. Tennille Community

16. Tarentum - Community Clubhouse, Tarentum Community

17. Springhill VFD - Springhill VFD, Springhill Community

18. Little Oak - County Voting Building, Allen's Store, Little Oak Community

19. Brundidge Galloway Road - Galloway Community Center, Galloway Road, Brundidge

20. Springhill Housing Authority - Springhill Housing Authority, U.S. 87, Troy

21. Courthouse - 120 W. Church Street, Troy

22. First Baptist Church 200 W. College Street, Troy

23. Henderson - Henderson FVD, Henderson Community

24. Goshen - Goshen Town Hall, Goshen

25. Rural Home - County Voting Building at Community Grocery, Hwy. 29 South, Troy

26. Shellhorn - Shellhorn School, County Road, No. 1, Shellhorn Community

27. Oak Bowery - Oak Bowery Church of Christ, Oak Bowery