Trojans’ Daniels, Goshen’s Pelton named to hoops All-Star team

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 1, 2002

Sixty outstanding junior basketball players from all over the state have been named to the North-South teams for the sixth annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week in Montgomery July 15-20, according to an announcement by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The two girls teams and two boys teams will square off in a Thursday doubleheader beginning with the girls tip-off at 6 p.m. at the Auburn University-Montgomery Physical Education Complex. The boys contest begins at 8 p.m.

Sports Week, which also includes in-state all-star games in volleyball, baseball, football and softball, will feature clinic and special sessions for coaches, athletic directors, cheerleader coaches and officials. A product exposition and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.

Members of the NORTH BOYS coaching staff are Larry Davidson of Oxford and Ricky Bowling of West Morgan.

North boys team members are Jake Peek of Crossville, Shane Gholston of Hazlewood, Brandon Thomas of Litchfield, Justin Jonus of Douglas, Jordan Howell of Bob Jones, Julius Whitehead of West End, Butch Caldwell of Vestavia Hills, Jonathan Frazier of Grissom;

Travis Guyton of Marion County, Fernandez Lockett of Bob Jones, Tyler Dunaway of Buckhorn, Marcel Spinks of Anniston, Zac Ward of Hartselle, Ricky Barnett of Bradshaw, and Jeremy Sullivan of John Carroll.

Coaches for the SOUTH BOYS are Major Lane of Goshen and Neremiah James of Stanhope Elmore.

South boys team members are Author Coleman and Troy Turman of Pleasant Home, Greg Spencer and Willie Edwards of LeFlore, Mercelle Briggins of Sunshine, Kendaris Pelton of Goshen, Lakory Daniels of Charles Henderson, Jai Miller of Selma; Alvin Daniels of Andalusia, Mack Bealim and Derek Crumpton of Livingston, Lontrell Jackson of Carver-Montgomery, Christian Schweers of Trinity, Terrell Foster of Brantley, and Sylvester Evans of Vigor.