American General announces AHSAA Player of the Year candidates

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 27, 2001

The American General Player of the Year Awards will be presented on Monday, Dec. 3 at the Sheraton Hotel in Birmingham.

14 top Alabama high school backs and linemen in seven classifications will be awarded at the event.

The Alabama Sports Writers Association committee selected winners based on performance in the 2001 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. The ASWA "Mr. Football" winner for 2001 will be recognized at the event as well.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The ASWA selected six finalists (three backs and three linemen) in each of the six classifications of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) and six finalists (three backs and three linemen) in the Alabama Independent Schools Association (AISA). High school head coaches and members of the ASWA made nominations.

The finalists are:

Class 1A Back-Tony Dixon, Parrish High School; Timothy Haynes, Wadley High School; Nick Threlkeld, Hubbertville High School. Class 1A Linemen – Nate Carden, American Christian; Stuart Cavan, American Christian; Tony Tittle, Brilliant High School.

Class 2A Back- Norris Drinkard, Houston County; Josh McConico, Leroy High School; Tavaris Slaughter, Vincent High School. Class 2A Linemen – Josh Moore, Leroy High School; Steven Robertson, Lineville High School; Barry Smith, West End High School.

Class 3A Back – Anthony Ash, Litchfield High School; Brett Borden, Phil Campbell High School; Chauncey Malone, West Morgan High School. Class 3A Linemen – Allen Reed, Litchfield High School; Henry Smith, Aliceville High School; Antonio Underwood, Tarrant High School.

Class 4A Back – Rayvon Howard, T.R. Miller High School; Trevis O’Neal, Leeds High School; Zac Wakefield, Winfield High School. Class 4A Linemen – Frank Aman, Trinity High School; Curran Fosse, UMS-Wright Prep School; George Summers, North Jackson High School.

Class 5A Back – Jason Allen, Muscle Shoals High School; Tim Castille, Briarwood Christian School; Eric Packer, Wilcox-Central High School. Class 5A Linemen – Christopher Browder, Wilcox-Central High School; Tyrone Martin, Benjamin Russell High School; Cornelius Rogers, Homewood High School.

Class 6A Back – Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville High School; Kenneth Darby, S.R. Butler High School; Chad Jackson, Hoover High School. Class 6A Linemen – Jeffery Allen, Huffman High School; Jeremy Clark, Daphne High School; Tommy Jackson, Opelika High School.

AISA Back – Casey Howard, Bessemer Academy; Chris Jackson, Glenwood School; Scott NesSmith, Edgewood Academy. AISA Linemen – Bryan Kilpatrick, Monroe Academy; James Ozment, Sumter Academy; Bradley Parden, Clarke Prep.