Pike County Junior Miss

Published 12:00 am Friday, July 27, 2001

Program set for Saturday


Features Editor

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Pike County Junior Miss Program doesn’t have all the glitz and glitter of Atlantic City, but it certainly has its share.

The program is a nationally acclaimed scholarship program and carries with it the prestigious title of Junior Miss.

On Saturday night, 11 young women from three of the county’s high schools will vie for the title and other awards that will total almost $10,000 in cash scholarships and prizes.

The Pike County Junior Miss Program is set for 7 p.m. Saturday at the Claudia Crosby Theater on the campus of Troy State University. Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for children 12 and under.

Laura Brown, director of the program sponsored by the Pike County Junior Miss Foundation, said the theme of this year’s program is "It’s Raining Junior Misses."

"All of the music is about rain, all of the songs have rain in the titles and the stage is set for rain," Brown said. "For the opening number, the contestants wear raincoats and carry umbrellas and the poise and fitness are related to rain. The theme is carried throughout the program and I think everyone will enjoy it."

Brown said the contestants have work very hard over the past two weeks preparing for the program and she believes they are ready to go on stage.

"They all seem excited to be a part of the Junior Miss Program and everyone has had a good time," she said. "We have an outstanding group of young women and any one of them would represent Pike County well."

The contestants are: Heather Powell and Anna Garrett, Pike Liberal Arts School; Stephanie Jordan and Erica Stough, Goshen High School; and Nancy Gibson, Crystal Yeager,

Rachel Rascoe, Rachel Jennings, Whitney Locklar, Courtney Dunn, and Amanda Matthews, Charles Henderson High School.

The 11 young women will compete in several categories, including talent, fitness, poise, interview and scholarship and for the "Be Your Best Self" award, the "Spirit of Junior Miss Award" and the Signature Page award.

The "Be Your Best Self" award is present to the contestant whose essay is judged best and the "Spirit" award is voted on by the contestants. The Signature Page award is given to the contestant who sells the most program signatures.

The Junior Miss receives a $1,500 cash scholarship and other category winners receive $100 with the exception of the scholastic achievement award which is $150.

The talent award is sponsored by Troy School of Dance the fitness award by Monica’s Gymnastics, the poise award by Kinetic Energy, the interview award, by the Alburquerque family in honor of Aryanez Alburquerque, the reigning Pike County Junior Miss, the scholastic award by the New Century Club, the "Be Your Best Self" award by the Locklar family in honor of Julianne Locklar, the 1997 Junior Miss, the "Spirit" award by the Junior Women’s League and the signature page award by the Pike County Junior Miss Foundation.

Brown said in addition to the competition for the title of Junior Miss and other awards, there will be an outstanding lineup of entertainment provided by Kinetic Energy, She-Bang, the Troy School of Dance and eight Junior Misses from surrounding counties.

Miss Troy State University Kelly Hawkins will emcee the program.

"Each contestant selects a ‘Little Sister,’ who assists her during the program," Brown said. "The ‘Little Sisters’ will participate in the opening number and also have a production number of their own and they, too, do an outstanding job."

The ‘Little Sisters’ are Casey Campbell (Heather Powell), Christy Sellers (Nancy Gibson), Michelle Ennis (Crystal Yeager), Celeste Sanders (Anna Garrett), Rachel Kelly (Rachel Rascoe), Emily Scarbrough (Rachel Jennings), Elizabeth Williford (Whitney Locklar), Tara Lee (Stephanie Jordan), Virginia Smith (Courtney Dunn), Hope Wheeler (Erica Stough) and Bea Gaskin (Amanda Matthews).