Oct. 27 voter registration deadline looms

Published 12:00 am Friday, October 13, 2000

Staff Writer

Oct. 12, 2000 10 PM

Anyone who wants to vote for their choice of presidential candidates better register within the next two weeks.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Evelyn Morgan of the Pike County Board of Registrars said she has seen an increase in voter registration over the past few weeks.

"It’s definitely been more active than usual," Morgan said. "I don’t remember there being this much activity, even four years ago."

As of Thursday, 18,267 Pike County residents were registered voters.

And, those who aren’t have until Oct. 27 to become a registered voter prior to the Nov. 7 election.

But, that’s not the only approaching deadline.

Oct. 28 will be the date for on-site absentee voting and Nov. 2 is the last day to apply for an absentee ballot.

Anyone who knows he or she will be out of the county on election day may apply for an absentee ballot. That includes students, military personnel or anyone who has to be away for business.

In addition to being able to vote for the nation’s leader, registered voters will be electing local and state officials, as well.

On Nov. 7, Pike County voters will choose county commissioners, state judicial officers and a Congressman.

Only three of the current Pike County Commissioners have opposition for the November race.

In District 3, incumbent Larry Penn, a Republican, will face Democrat Sherrill Calhoun. Incumbent Ray Goodson is running for re-election to the District 4 seat against Jim Medley, a Republican. For the District 6 seat, incumbent Karen Berry, a Democrat, is running against Republican candidate John Schmidt.

District 1 Commissioner Willie Thomas, a Democrat, District 2 Commissioner Larry Meeks, a Republican, and District 5 Commissioner Charlie Harris, a Democrat had no opposition for the General Election.

Pike Countians will also choose between incumbent Terry Everett, a Republican, and Charles Woods, a Democrat, for United States Representative from Congressional District 1.

There are also the often-forgotten state judicial races on the Nov. 7 ballot.

Republican Roy Moore is facing Democrat Sharon Yates for the Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice bench.

Others seeking a place on the Alabama Supreme Court are: Ralph Cook, Democrat, and Lyn Stuart, Republican, for Place 1; John England, a Democrat, and Tom Woodall, a Republican, for Place 3; Republican Bernard Harwood and Democrat Joel Laird for Place 4. The Place 2 bench will be filled by Champ Lyons, a Republican.

Jim Sullivan, a Republican, won re-election as president of the Public Service Commission because of no opposition.

Ella Bell, a Democrat, will serve on the Alabama Board of Education, Place 3, representing this area.

Three seats on the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals are up for election. Those running are: Democrat Jimmy Fry and Republican Greg Shaw for Place 1, Democrat Aubrey Ford and Republican Kelli Wise for Place 2 and Democrat Sue Bell Cobb and Alice Martin, a Republican, for Place 3.

There are also three open seats on the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals. Candidates for those offices are: Democrat Roger Monroe and Craig Pittman for Place 1, Republican John Crawley and Democrat Henry Steagall for Place 2 and Glenn Murdock, a Republican and Gene Reese, a Democrat, for Place 3.