Only one race is on today’s ballot

Published 12:00 am Monday, September 11, 2000

Staff Writer

Sept. 11, 2000 10 PM

Voters in Troy District 1 will once again head to the polls today.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Results of the Aug. 22 municipal election forced incumbent José Henderson and Charlie Dunn Sr. into a runoff.

During the election last month, Henderson garnered 175 votes and Dunn received 134 votes.

Troy City Clerk Alton Starling, who is serving as the elections officer said the one-race runoff will cost between $4,000 and $5,000.

"I’m hoping for a smooth day," Starling said Monday afternoon.

Residents of District 1 vote at the Troy Community Complex gym on Elm Street. The polling place will be open from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m.

No other runoffs will be necessary in Troy, Brundidge or Goshen.

Banks’ leaders were all unopposed.

In Troy, the District 5 seat will be held by Wanda Moultry for another four years after she garnered almost 68 percent of the vote in her race against two opponents.

The other three council members ­ Charles Meeks, District 2; Jason Reeves, District 3 and John Witherington, District 4 ­ were re-elected without opposition

Troy Mayor Jimmy Lunsford was re-elected to a fifth term after defeating George Balmer.

All the faces on the Brundidge City Council will be the same with one exception.

Vernon Jackson defeated the incumbent Jaine Treadwell for the District 3 seat.

Those who were re-elected were: Sherroll Tatom, District 1; Cynthia Pearson, District 2; Isabell Boyd, District 4 and Arthur Griffin, District 5.Brundidge Mayor Jimmy Ramage was re-elected with on opposition.

In Goshen Michael Sanders will retain the position as mayor.

The four incumbents who were seeking re-election on the Goshen council will retain their seats. They are: Sammy Cope, Norma McLeod, Al Sanders and J.R. Sanders.

The newest councilman will be Guy Bruce. Office holders in Banks are: Mayor Larry Henderson and council members Lisa Correale, Lori Welch, Wilda Steele, Wayne Wilson and Dewayne Henderson.The elected officials will take office in October.