Voters to elect municipal leaders today

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, August 22, 2000

Staff Writer

Aug. 21, 2000 10 PM

Pike County voters will be heading to the polls, today, to elect municipal candidates.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In this nonpartisan election, voters can cast ballots for the candidate of their choice since candidates in municipal elections are not required to register with a political party.

Polls will be open between 8 am. and 6 p.m. throughout the county.

In Brundidge, voters will go to the old Hasting Hardware building to cast ballots for the candidate of their choice.

There, voters in District 1 will elect either incumbent Sherrol Tatom or Altrena Baxter. Brundidge City Councilwoman Jaine Treadwell has opposition from Vernon Jackson for the District 3 seat.

Troy Mayor Jimmy Lunsford has opposition from George Balmer.

In the race to fill the Troy City Council seats, only two incumbents have opposition. In District 1, José Henderson will run against Charlie Dunn Sr., Matthew Jordan Sr. and Rickey McLendon. The District 5 race will pit Wanda Moultry against Lynda Maddox and James Neal.

Voting locations in the city of Troy are: District 1, Troy Community Complex gym; District 2 and 3, National Guard Armory; District 3 and 4, temporary building at Park Memorial United Methodist Church; District 4, First Baptist Church; District 5, Pike County Courthouse and the community complex gym.

In Goshen, residents will vote at the volunteer fire department.

Goshen Mayor Michael Sanders will face opposition from Jimmy Bryan and Rusty Yeomans.

Four incumbents are running for the five-member town council, which is voted for at-large. Those seeking re-election are: Sammy Cope, Norma McLeod, Al Sanders and J.R. Sanders. The incumbents are being opposed by Guy Bruce and Jean Jordan.

In Banks, all the current office holders will serve another four years because of no opposition.