Nettle named Student Athlete Of The Year

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 21, 2000

From Special Reports

The 1999-2000 Trans America Athletic Conference Student-Athletes-of-the-Year are Jacksonville State University’s Lisa Baswell and Troy State University’s Shannon Nettle in voting completed by the TAAC’s Faculty Athletic Representatives.

JSU’s Baswell becomes the first repeat winner in TAAC history as she also earned the award in 1998-99. A member of the JSU Women’s Basketball Team, Baswell graduated in April with her Master’s Degree in Education. A member of JSU’s Scholar-Athlete Hall of Fame, Baswell was named the GTE Academic All-American-of-the-Year (University Division) in 1999-2000. She earned GTE Academic All-America First Team and TAAC First Team honors at the conclusion of the 1999-2000 season. Baswell finished the season 18th nationally in scoring average (21.0 ppg) and 17th in free-throw percentage (85.4%, 123-of-144). Baswell, serving as President of JSU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, concluded her career third in school history with 312 made free-throws and second in career scoring average at 20.8 points per game (1,187 total pts).

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Troy State’s Nettle becomes the Trojans’ second straight recipient as TSU’s Michael Green (cross country/track) earned the award in 1998-99. Nettle, the number one singles player for the TSU’s Men’s Tennis Team, was named an Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Scholar-Athlete All-American in 1999-2000. Also a member of TSU’s number two doubles team, Nettle and teammate Willy Campos were ranked 19th in the country on February 16th, 2000. Nettle posted an undefeated 9-0 record against TAAC opponents in 1999-2000 in both singles and doubles play. Compiling a combined record of 57-15 (27-8 in singles, 30-5 in doubles) in 1999-2000, Nettle was a TAAC First Team honoree. Named TSU’s team captain the past three season, Nettle concludes his career as the all-time leader in career wins (singles/doubles) in TSU tennis history.

The TAAC Male and Female Student-Athletes-of-the-Year are voted on by the Faculty Athletic Representative at each TAAC institution. The nominees must be at least juniors or seniors in academic standing, have attended the school for one full year prior to their season of competition and have at least a cumulative gpa of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale to qualify.