Tournament team selected

Published 12:00 am Friday, June 2, 2000

for Dixie Boys 13 and 14


Sports Editor

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Dixie Boys 13- and 14-year-old Tournament Teams were voted on and selected Wednesday night with 13 members being named to both.

The Careerman’s Club Padres were the most represented club on the two rosters with three on the 14 year old and two on the 13. Two clubs had four total on both rosters in the Mets and Tigers and the rest of the teams had three or fewer.

Cardinals’ head coach Butch VanHorn will head up the coaching staff for the 14-year-old team after guiding his club to the top spot in the league over the regular season.

Joining him will be assistant coaches Ron Pierce and Adam Hopper of the Indians.

Members of the 14-year-old Tournament Team are: Chase Clower (Indians), Elijah Daniel (Tigers), LaKory Daniels (Padres), Daniel Hussey (Cardinals), Chase Kelly (Tigers), Chris Nickson (White Sox), Blake Phelps (Mets), Brett Pierce (Indians), Daniel Porter (Padres), Tyson Pugh (Mets), Luke Sanders (Padres), Pete VanHorn (Cardinals) and Fernnando White (Mariners).

Mets head coach Sam Kitchens will lead the 13-year-old team to the State Tournament. Joining him will be Roy Folmar of the Rockies.

Members of the 13-year-old team are: Christopher Booker (Cardinals), Kevin Brown (Rockies), Dewayne Cannon (Padres), Martesi Carlisle (Padres), Joshua Daniel (Tigers), Wiley Dees (Mariners), Andrew Folmar (Rockies), Stephen Golden (Mets), Jeremy Jones (White Sox), Quavian Lewis (Indians), Brain Matney (Mariners), Morgan Sanders (Mets) and Brandon Walters (Tigers).

The two teams will travel to Elba on Saturday, June 24, for their Sub-District Tournament that starts the 2000 Tournament games for Dixie Boys. If they advance, District will be held in Geneva July 7.