Troy BOE selects officers

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, May 16, 2000

Staff Writer

May 15, 2000 10 PM

The Troy Board of Education selected its new leaders Monday night.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Vicki Jones was elected as president of the board and Willie B. Williams was elected vice president. This will be Williams’ second time to serve in that capacity.

After taking care of reorganizing the board, which is done each year at the May meeting, Jones took over from outgoing president Jane Vincent.

During that meeting, the board accepted several personnel changes including the retirements of Janet Gaston, a science teacher at Charles Henderson High School and Margie Kelley, a resource teacher.

The board also voted to "loan" teachers David Laliberte and Pebley Booth to the State Department of Education. Laliberte and Booth will be placed at schools on academic alert status for the 2000-1 school year. Troy City Schools will replace both teachers for one year with funds from the state.

Board members approved the transfers of Marianne Gilbert, Brenda Dennis and Carol Stuart; the resignation of Shannon Boyd at Troy Elementary School and hiring of Yolanda Smith at TES.

The board also amended the budget by $463,172. Superintendent Hank Jones said part is carryover and other money is some the school system didn’t "know was coming."

Reimbursement for travel will now be .325, effective June 1.

And, Images Carpet Care was awarded a carpet cleaning bid at a total cost of $6,235.80.