State’s marriage licenses
Published 12:00 am Thursday, October 7, 1999
see fee hike
By MICHELLE WILSON
Published Oct. 7, 1999
The price of getting married in Alabama went up this month with a $15 increase in the marriage license fee.
The increase came through Act 99-589, which was approved during the 1999 session of the Alabama state legislature. Prior to the change, which was effective Oct. 1, the license cost $25, said Donna Fannin, chief clerk at Pike County Probate Court.
The statewide increase allows for additional money to go to domestic violence shelters, Fannin said.
Prior to the change, the shelters received $15 of the $25 fee with $10 going to pay courts costs, she said.
Now $30 of the $40 fee goes to the shelters.
"We haven’t had any complaints yet about the change in fee, but we haven’t issued many licenses this month," she said.
A marriage license is required for a couple to get married in Alabama. It is valid within 30 days of the date of issue, Fannin said.
The license regulates marriages, said Pike County Probate Judge Bill Stone.
The license is issued before the ceremony, Fannin said. After the ceremony, the minister or judge certifies the license. Then it is returned to the courthouse for recording.
"The reason you buy a license is to ensure people getting married are at least 18 or have written parental consent if they are younger and to gather statistics," Stone said.
Besides marriage licenses, the probate court also issues licenses for driving, hunting, fishing, boating and business operation. The probate office is located on the main floor of the Pike County Courthouse.